Need help finding articles?
See the UBC Library Guide to Finding Articles. Shows you how to search for a known article from a list or in course reserve, find articles on a topic, and what to do when UBC Library doesn't have the article you're looking for.
Article Indexes for Portuguese
Literature
- MLA International BibliographyBest starting point for Portuguese literary criticism, as well as some film criticism
Language
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowBest starting point for Portuguese linguistics
Film | Art | Culture
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowStart here for articles on Portuguese and Brazilian cinema.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowGood coverage of Portuguese and Brazilian art and film.
Latin American Studies
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowAnnotated bibliography of works on Latin America in the humanities and the social sciences.
Middle Ages and Renaissance
- PhiloBiblonAn index of Catalan, Galician, Portuguese & Spanish manuscripts from the Middle Ages and early Renaissance.
Open Access Databases from Lusophone countries
Open Access Repositories
An open-access repository or open archive is a digital platform that holds research output and provides free, immediate and permanent access to research results for anyone to use, download and distribute. The popularity of Open Access in Latin America is soaring. According to Emma Clarke, the Open Access model "is used more extensively in [LatinAmerica] than in any other region in the wold, in the form of online repositories hosting journals and dissertations at a regional, national and institutional level." [Open Access: The View from Latin America by Emma Clarke, editor, Peter Lang Publishers]
You can search by country using the Open Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR) tool. The key Open Access Repositories from Lusophone countries are listed below.
Latin America
- RedIB (Red Iberoamericana)
An open access digital platform that provides access to high quality scholarly journals in the Social, Life, Health, Physical, Engineering Sciences and Humanities. The page is available in English, Portuguese and Spanish, and the indexed titles are published in several different countries. - LatAmPlus - Estudios Latinoamericanos
Digital collection of full-text peer reviewed journals - Latindex - Sistema Regional de Información en Línea para Revistas Científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal
Indexes journals published in Latin-America and the Caribbean, with some full text. - CLACSO Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe
Provides free access to the texts of the 324 CLACSO Member Centers in 25 countries of Latin America and the Caribbean. - RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y El Caribe, España y Portugal
Indexes serials published in 26 countries, including Angola, Brazil and Portugal. Includes over 700,000 full text articles. Developed by the Universidad Autonoma de Estado de Mexico.
Brazil
- Biblioteca Digital Nacional (National Digital Library)Fundação Biblioteca Nacional (National Library Foundation) provides free digital access to historical magazines, journals, reports, music and video.
- ScIELOThe Scientific Electronic Library Online - SciELO is an electronic library with a collection of Latin American, South African and Portuguese scholarly resources. The Project envisages the development of a common methodology for the preparation, storage, dissemination and evaluation of scientific literature in electronic format.
- Sumários de Revistas Brasileiras (Summaries of Brazilian Journals)Indexes Brazilian scholarly journals.
Portugal
- Repositório Aberto - Universidade AbertaUniversidade Aberta (Open University) is the only public distance learning university in Portugal. Their open access repository holds journals, thesis, dissertations and open educational resources.