Portuguese Language, Literature and Culture

The Handbook of Portuguese Linguistics presents a comprehensive overview of research within the Brazilian and European variants of the Portuguese language. It includes chapters focusing on the key areas of linguistic study, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, linguistic change, language variation and contact, and acquisition.

The Grammar is divided into two parts. Part A covers traditional grammatical categories such as agreement, nouns, verbs and adjectives. Part B is carefully organized around language functions covering all major communication situations such as establishing identity, making contact and expressing likes, dislikes and preferences.

A practical reference guide to the most important aspects of modern European and Brazilian Portuguese, it presents a fresh and accessible description of the language combining and function-based grammar.

An essential, comprehensive guide for all who are interested in learning the Portuguese language and mastering its complexities, Portuguese: A Reference Manual supplements the phonetic and grammatical explanations offered in basic textbooks.

This companion volume offers an introduction to European Portuguese literature for university-level readers. It consists of a chronological overview of Portuguese literature from the twelfth century to the present day, by some of the most distinguished literary scholars of recent years, leading into substantial essays centred on major authors, genres or periods, and a study of the history of translations.

This updated bibliography lists books in Portuguese about & by authors of Angola, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Sao Tome, & Principe. Literature is divided into Oral & Folk Literature, Creative Writing, & Literary History & Criticism. Emphasizing the new nation states while offering complete coverage from the 16th century to 1991, it provides comprehensive details which include the date & place of publication, publisher, editions, illustrations & illustrators, contributors of prefaces & introductions, translations & translators, descriptive notes, lists of books published by authors of these countries, & details of unpublished manuscripts. An easy-access index is split into authors & book titles.

Literary dictionary for Portuguese, Brazilian and Galician literature.

First published in 1999, this volume examines the impact of political, social and cultural developments on the nation's most popular musical form, samba, in the context of the period 1930-45, one of huge social change in Brazil, with the introduction of industrialization under the authoritarian regime of Getúlio Vargas. She looks at the context in which the songs were written, the life styles and social positions of the composers (sambistas), and their relationship to political and commercial structures. By studying samba lyrics we can obtain a clear picture of samba lyrics we can obtain a clear picture of samba's shifting status as it was transformed from the music of working-class blacks and was appropriated by mainstream middle-class culture. The final chapters of the book focus on the lyrics of three influential sambistas: Ataúlfo Alves, Noel Rosa and Ari Barroso, and look at the manner in which their songs both comply with and flout tradition and authority.

Taking an original approach, Challenging Memories and Rebuilding Identities: Literary and Artistic Voices that undo the Lusophone Atlantic explores a selected body of cultural works from Portugal, Brazil and Lusophone Africa. Contributors from various fields of expertise examine the ways contemporary writers, artists, directors, and musicians explore canonical forms in visual arts, cinema, music and literature, and introduce innovation in their narratives, at the same time they discuss the social and historical context they belong to.

Analyzing a wide body of cultural texts, including literature, film, and other visual arts, Gender, Empire, and Postcolony: Luso-Afro-Brazilian Intersections is a diverse collection of essays on gender in Portuguese colonialism and Lusophone postcolonialism.