Open Education

These large repositories have a good breadth of disciplines, subjects, and formats which make them a great place to start your search. Lists of repositories that are material-specific and subject-specific are also available.

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)

The Mason OER Metafinder searches across 21 different sources of open educational materials. It searches well-known OER repositories like OpenStax, OER Commons, MERLOT but also sites like HathiTrust, DPLA, Internet Archive and NYPL Digital Collections where valuable but often overlooked open educational materials may be found.

MERLOT

The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections. These materials have been contributed by the MERLOT member community who have either authored the materials or who have shared existing open education materials. Materials in MERLOT are reviewed for suitability for retention in the collection. Many undergo the more extensive peer review process for which MERLOT is known. MERLOT has also added a "Smart Search" function which searches for OER at other libraries/repositories, and which can also search the web using a proprietary MERLOT user profile design to find the newest and most popular learning materials available.

OASIS

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 98 different sources and contains 368,237 records.

OER Commons

OER Commons offers a comprehensive infrastructure for curriculum experts and instructors at all levels to identify high-quality OER and collaborate around their adaptation, evaluation, and use to address the needs of teachers and learners.

The goal of the UBC OER Collection is to showcase UBC OER content in a searchable interface to support both UBC faculty and the general community in incorporating open educational resources and practices into their curriculum.

For more information:

• Search the Collection
• Submit OER to the Collection
• Check out the how-to guides on creating and publishing OER
• Attend a workshop or webinar
• Contact us at open.ubc@ubc.ca

Additional UBC OER Collections

• Open Collections at UBC are publicly-accessible collections that reflect the research interests of the UBC community and beyond.
• cIRcle is UBC's institutional repository which contains works published by UBC faculty, staff, and community.
• Open UBC Pressbook Catalogue is a catalogue of open texts created by faculty and students at the University of British Columbia in support of open educational practices on campus. 
• Science Writing Resources Wiki
• Math Exam Resources Wiki
• Open Access Journal Hosting  provides access to server space and to the open source OJS (Open Journal Systems) software for UBC faculty members who are editing or supporting Open Access electronic journals as well as recognized UBC student journals
• Abacus Data Network is a tool that you can use to search for open data.
• Geodisy is a an open-source tool that allows users to search online for Canadian research data through map-based discovery.

• UBC Archives Photograph collection provides a visual record of UBC's growth and development, the evolution of student life, and campus events over most of the past century.