Key Resources
If you have a specific article you're searching for, or are looking for books, Summon is a good place to start. Summon lets you simultaneously search the Library's book collection and many full text journal articles.
If you're searching for articles on a topic, you'll probably want to search a database which is more focused on health sciences than Summon. Look for the UBC eLink icons to check for full text articles.
-
Lean Library browser extensionInstall to get easier, faster access to full text articles and ebooks.
-
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Premier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
-
Web of Science Core CollectionMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
-
Scopus Search citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
-
CCOHS Web Information ServiceIncludes selected CSA standards, safety information sheets (SDS), Canadian legislation, and other occupational health and safety information.
-
SafetyLitInjury prevention literature database sponsored by the WHO and San Diego State University. Offers a weekly email update of new literature in the field.
-
Canada CommonsSearchable access to current public documents issued by Canadian public policy and health research agencies and think tanks, as well as books from over 70 Canadian publishers.
-
Standards
by Sarah Parker Last Updated Jul 30, 2025 5049 views this year
