Research Help
Need help with a literature review?
Your subject librarian can meet with you to help refine your search terms, advise on appropriate databases, discuss how to manage your search results, and consult on systematic or scoping review methods.
Book an online appointment here or contact ursula.ellis@ubc.ca.
If you're working on a systematic or scoping review, please complete this form:
woodward.library.ubc.ca/research-help/evidence-synthesis/
Workshops are regularly offered on a wide range of topics, including literature reviews and systematic reviews.
Key Resources
If you have a specific article you're searching for, or are looking for books, Summon is a good place to start. Summon lets you simultaneously search the Library's book collection and many full text journal articles.
If you're searching for articles on a topic, you'll probably want to search a database which is more focused on health sciences than Summon. Look for the UBC eLink icons to check for full text articles.
- Library Access browser extensionInstall to get easier, faster access to full text articles and ebooks.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowThe main medical database. Same content as PubMed, but with advanced search features.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- CCOHS Web Information Service This link opens in a new windowIncludes selected CSA standards, safety information sheets (SDS), Canadian legislation, and other occupational health and safety information.
- SafetyLitInjury prevention literature database sponsored by the WHO and San Diego State University. Offers a weekly email update of new literature in the field.
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new windowSearchable access to current public documents issued by Canadian public policy and health research agencies and think tanks, as well as books from over 70 Canadian publishers.
Finding COVID-19 research
When searching Ovid MEDLINE or PubMed, there are COVID search filters you can add to your search to focus your results:
In Ovid MEDLINE, after searching for your topic, click the Limits link below the search box and check the "COVID-19" box, then the Search button:
In PubMed, click "Clinical Queries," in the Find section on the main page; then choose COVID-19.
The sources below are good places to find preprints, grey literature, and other COVID research not included in MEDLINE.
- Cochrane COVID-19 Study RegisterIncludes published journal articles, preprints, and clinical trial registry entries.
- WHO COVID-19 Research DatabaseIncludes journal articles, preprints, and other grey literature
- COVID-19 L-OVE from EpistemonikosPrimary studies, systematic reviews and other evidence syntheses. Sortable by PICO elements.
- Directory of resources related to COVID-19Compiled by EPPI-Centre - list of COVID research portals