U.S. and International Newspapers - Full Text Databases
The focus of this guide is English-language newspapers. For newspapers in Asian languages, consult the librarians at the Asian Library.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides access to a deep archive of news and business information, allowing users to conduct in-depth research on companies, industries, regional affairs.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's premier fulltext news, government, legal, finance and business information services. Research international news, corporate and legal materials.
- New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowFull text of the NYT from 1851 to the current [with three year embargo.] View articles and full page of every issue in this time period.
- South China Morning Post This link opens in a new windowThe South China Morning Post - an English language newspaper published in Hong Kong - is renowned for its authoritative and influential reporting on Hong Kong, China and all of Asia. It is highly regarded by researchers because of the unique history of Hong Kong as well as the newspaper’s editorial perspective on Imperial Japan and Communist China. With searchable, full text coverage from South China Morning Post’s origin in 1903 up to and including 1997, users will be able to search the entirety of the newspaper including advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and photographs that illuminate history as much as the news articles.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (London). - Times of India (1838 - 2008) This link opens in a new windowFull text access to the English language daily newspaper founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India.
- World News Connection Archive This link opens in a new windowArchive of translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources.
U.S. and International Newspapers - by Title
Follow the links for information on UBC Library collections of these titles in print, online, and microformat.
- Asahi shinbun (in Japanese) - online
- Christian Science Monitor - online | microformat
- Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung - online | microformat
- Financial Times - online | microformat
- Guardian Weekly - print | online | microformat
- Izvestiia - print | online | microformat
- Japan Times - print | online | microformat
- Le Monde - online | microformat
- Moscow News - print | online | microformat
- New York Times - print | online | microformat
- NK News - online
- Observer (London) - online
- Pravda - online | microformat
- South China Morning Post - online
- Sunday Times (London) - online | microformat
- Times (London) - online | microformat
- Times of India - online
- Wall Street Journal - print | online | microformat
- Washington Post - online | microformat
- Yomiuri shinbun | The Daily Yomiuri (Japanese & English) - online