Newspapers and News Sources

Indexes some Aboriginal press, including, but not limited to, Windspeaker and Kahtou. Search terms: Indigenous peoples, Native peoples, Metis, Native Americans and Inuit. Select source type: Newspapers.

Indexes 450 alternative, radical and left press publications, mainly based out of the US. Aboriginal titles include: Akwe:kon Journal (title changed to Native Americas) and Akwesasne Notes.

Indexes digitized Canadian historical newspapers and magazines. Includes some First Nations, Inuit, and Métis publications and many small, regional papers. Ongoing project as of August 2016.

Nuu-chaa-nulth news and perspectives. Print holdings available in the UBC Library Catalogue.

Print holdings in the UBC Library catalogue. Ceased publication.

Print, available online. Secwepemc newspaper produced monthly (in partnership with the Williams Lake Tribune) since 2004.

Available online since 2014. Published by the Naut’sa mawt Tribal Council since 2004.

AMMSA monthly publication as part of Windspeaker featuring news from British Columbia and the Yukon.

The voice of the Anishinabek nation (Union of Ontario Indians); see also UBC Library Catalog holdings. Access limited

Community based newspaper from Kahnawake Mohawk Territory in Quebec.

National coverage

Coverage of Nunavut and the Nunavik region of northern Quebec. Articles published in English, Inuktitut, French, and sometimes Inuinnaqtun.

Based in Yellowknife and reporting on North West Territories and Nunavut.

Southern Ontario news weekly. Ceased publication in 2013.

National weekly news independently published by the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in southern Ontario.

Northern Ontario's First Nations

AMMSA monthly publication as part of Windspeaker featuring news from Alberta.

Kukukwes.com is a news website dedicated to covering Indigenous news in Atlantic Canada.

AMMSA monthly publication as part of Windspeaker featuring news from Saskatchewan.

AMMSA (Print) National paper, most widely distributed Aboriginal news publication in Canada. Print and online holdings in the UBC Catalogue.

Monthly publication dedicated to presenting news from a Native American perspective, while granting an equal opportunity to community voices.

Publishes news and information on Indian affairs, keeping patrons up to date with the latest and most accurate information on the issues affecting Indian Country.

Offers in-depth coverage of Native American News, world news, politics, business, gaming, finance, economic development, environmental issues, education, arts & entertainment, Native American culture, pow wows, health & wellness, travel, genealogy, First Nations of Canada, sports, and veterans’ issues.

Covers Native news from across America.