Legend
limited to UBC students, faculty & staff (Connect to Library Resources or Library Access Browser Extension)
limited to UBC's Allard School of Law students & faculty
Law Library at Allard Hall
Canadian Legislation Databases
These ‘unofficial’ databases are useful for their search capabilities and for researching legislation across federal and provincial jurisdictions.
- CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute )Free internet access to Canadian legislation & case law via uniform search interface; Scope of Databases
- [Lexis] Lexis Advance QuicklawCanadian & international primary source materials: case law, statutes & regulations; secondary source materials: legal news & law reviews.
- [Lexis] Lexis Advance Quicklaw PlusCanadian & international primary source materials: case law, statutes & regulations; secondary source materials: legal news & law reviews.
- [Westlaw] WestlawNext CanadaCanadian & international primary source materials: case law, statutes & regulations; secondary source materials: legal news & law reviews.
- [Westlaw] LawSource This link opens in a new windowCollection of Canadian case law, legislation and editorial tools for legal research via Westlaw's platform.
Legislation and Government Websites
- Consolidated Statutes and Regulations of Canada (Justice Laws)
- Annual Statutes of Canada (CanLII) 2001-
- Annual Statutes of Canada (Justice Laws) 2001-
- Annual Statutes of Canada (HeinOnline) 1792-
- Annual Statutes of Canada (LLMC) 1867-1994
- Annual Statutes of Canada (Canadiana Online)
- Revised Statutes of Canada (Canadiana Online)
- Constitution Acts, 1867-1982 (Justice Laws)
- Table of Private Acts (Dept. of Justice)
- LEGISinfoDetailed information about individual Bills from 2001 onward. Includes the text of the bill at various stages, legislative summaries from the Parliamentary Research Branch, important speeches at second reading, and coming into force information.
- Bills 1994 -
- Canadian Hansard Dataset (Lipad Linked Parliamentary Data) 1901-
- House of Commons Debates 1994-
- House of Commons Debates 1867-1996
- House of Commons Journals 1867-1993
- Senate Debates 1996-
- Senate Debates 1867-1996
- Senate Committees 1994-
- Senate Journals 1996-
- Senate Journals 1867-1993
- Research Publications (Library of Parliament)Research on current & emerging key issues, legislation & public policy topics
- GALLOP Portal (Government and Legislative Library Online Publications Portal) (Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada)Indexes full-text and bibliographic content from the electronic government documents collections of 10 Canadian jurisdictions; intended as a one-stop access point for Canadian government documents
- Canada Gazette 1998-Canada Gazette Part I - Government Notices & Proposed Regulations
Canada Gazette Part II - Official Regulations
Canada Gazette Part III - Acts of Parliament - Canada Gazette 1841-1997
- Orders in Council (OICs) 1990-
- Orders in Council (OICs) 1867-1924
- Orders in Council (OICs) (1867-1970) [unsearchable image files]
- Commissions of Inquiry (Privy Council Office)