Start with key secondary sources such as books, legal encyclopedias, journal articles, and government reports and documents.
Law Library at Allard Hall
Key Secondary Sources
Books
- Use the library catalogue to find books on topic
- Legal books are useful because they:
- provide a scholarly overview of a subject
- are analytical as well as descriptive
- provide reference to cases and legislation as well as to other helpful research materials
Encyclopedias
Legal encyclopedias provide succinct statement of the law, supported by references to cases and legislation
- Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (Western)Call Number: Reference Room (level 2): KE156.2 .C364or online via Westlaw Edge Canada
The print format:
• Multi-volume set, with both Western (focuses on federal law & provincial law from the 4 western provinces) & Ontario versions
• INDEX volume facilitates access to the alphabetically-arranged topics (called Titles)
• Every Title includes: Table of Contents, Table of Cases, Table of Statutes, Table of Rules & Regulations (if applicable) & subject index
• Grey-edged supplements at the front of most Titles brings research up-to-date - Halsbury’s Laws of CanadaCall Number: Reference Room (level 2): KE180 .H34or online via Lexis+ or Lexis Advance Quicklaw Plus
The print format:
• Bound volumes with Cumulative Supplement that provides commentary and references to case law & statutes on a full range of Canadian legal topics
• Each Title (or topic) is authored by Canadian expert(s)
• Includes: Table of Contents, List of Related Titles, Table of Cases, Table of Statutes, Index, and Glossary of Definitions (which identifies words & phrases defined in legislation, relevant to the Title’s subject matter)
• Companion Guide and Consolidated Index facilitates access to all Titles covered in the main volumes
Journal Articles
Journal articles often provide expert commentary on legal topics, as well as references to important cases, relevant legislation, etc.
- LegalTrac This link opens in a new window• Indexes articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law & bar association journals, & legal newspapers on US Federal and State Cases, Laws and Government Regulations, Legal Practice
• Provides links to some full text & includes selective coverage of British Commonwealth, European Union and international law journals
• List of indexed publications
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature via Westlaw Edge Canada's LawSource• Provides thorough coverage of Canadian law journal articles
• Also includes: case comments & annotations for more than 200 Canadian legal and law-related periodicals
• Indexes books, individual essays from edited collections, federal & provincial government publications, and publications of law faculties & legal research institutes & associations, including theses
• Also available via Westlaw Edge Canada or Lexis+ accounts.
• A print version is available at LAW LIBRARY Reference Room (level 2): KE1 .I532. - Scott Index of Canadian Law PeriodicalsFormerly the Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature (1998-)
• Covers over 20,000 texts including articles published in more than a hundred Canadian law journals, legal articles published in journals from related fields, texts from legal conferences, and case comments.
• Note: Website is in French, but can search for English material here.
• Print version at LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE8 .I53 (1961-2006) provides references to some law-related articles not found in ICLL and includes Author/Title Index, Table of Cases and Book Review Index
Search case comments using:
- topic keywords
- statute name
- case name
Government Documents
Government publications can be found using:
- library catalogue
- government websites, using general search engines