Law - Law eBooks

Covers all stages of advising a business, from the first meeting with the client (where the client has a new business) until the point just before the company goes public.

Provides hyperlinks to legislation, case law, and other decisions in administrative law proceedings, judicial review, statutory appeals, and stated cases. Covers both federal and provincial decision-makers and proceedings in both federal and British Columbia superior courts.

Comprehensive guide to the British Columbia Builders Lien Act.

Practice-oriented publication covering a wide range of actions, from common law torts to rights of action conferred under federal and provincial statutes.

Gathers key information about trial preparation and strategy from a cross-section of Vancouver's top advocates, some of whom are now serving on the bench.

Guide to British Columbia company law and practice, mapping out every step of every transaction - from incorporation to dissolution.

Offers annotated precedents, with step-by-step instructions to guide through each type of file and through each type of application in the British Columbia Supreme Court. Includes practical explanations of how to commence an action, how to handle prejudgment collections, and how to use execution proceedings.

Provides estate planning strategies and tools, from overview commentary to details of tax planning techniques and drafting considerations.

Includes relevant case law, forms, precedents, procedural checklists and commentary.

Reviews the residential mortgage and discusses special considerations for commercial mortgage transactions.

Covers all important topics that may arise in an action from starting a claim to obtaining judgment. Also includes recent amendments to the newly titled Insurance (Vehicle) Act and Insurance (Vehicle) Regulation, including an overview of the changes, coverage of optional insurance contracts, and a table of concordance to the Act.

Guide to PPSA transactions and provides step-by-step through all the parts of a secured transaction.

Guide to handling probate and estate administration matters in British Columbia.

Provides information about land acquisition, the structure of the developer and joint ventures, conducting appropriate searches and investigations, how land use is regulated and development rights obtained, controls on site development, charges for offsite development costs, and subdivision regulation.

Provides coverage of the necessary steps of a conveyance. Includes: residential property, including searches and investigations; summary chapter on commercial property transactions; special considerations for strata lots; discussion of lawyers' undertakings and professional responsibility issues; the latest case law on duties of real estate licensees; full coverage of tax considerations for both residential and commercial property; and practical advice and remedies for a collapsing deal.

Describes the essentials of real property assessment and this area of law. Topics covered include taxing authorities, assessable property, appeal proceedings before the PARP and the PAAB, appealing a board decision by way of stated case or judicial review, and First Nations taxation.

This manual covers the requirements for creation, governance, operation, finances, and insurance of a strata corporation, as well as dispute resolution and collections, appointment of an administrator, licensing of strata managers, phasing of a strata development, and advanced topics in fundamental changes to the strata corporation.

Guide to appellate civil proceedings in British Columbia. Cites cases on civil appellate procedure, provides steps in appellate process, & provide answers to issues that frequently arise. Coverage includes chapters on jurisdiction, standards of review, leave to appeal, commencing the appeal, relief pending appeal, hearing and new matters, and post-hearing matters. Legislation, Court of Appeal Rules, Forms, Civil Practice Directives, and tables are included. Updated regularly, features links to full-text cases and legislation, and full-text searching.

Includes detailed checklists, extensive practice tips, statutory references, and comprehensive forms and precedents. The book covers most common company procedures, such as incorporation and organization, financial matters, directors and officers, and transition.

Resource that can be used for drafting agreements and documents relating to the buying or selling of a business. Includes annotated explanations for key provisions and sample agreements: sample short form and long form asset and share purchase agreements.

Guide to conveyancing, designed to aid the conveyancer and legal assistant by providing a step-by-step guide to the transfer of land in British Columbia.

Provides step-by-step instructions in putting together a successful desk order divorce package. Commentary explains desk order divorce procedure and strategy, and each document that must be submitted is annotated with sample provisions and practice tips.

Guide to discovery practice in British Columbia, providing strategies and practice tools to use the discovery process effectively to reach a settlement or gain the edge at trial.

Reference work on the conduct of due diligence on the acquisition of a business or other commercial transaction, providing commentary and precedents for several due diligence searches.

Resource to help make efficient use of expert evidence. Identify when and how to use experts, analyze how to lay the factual basis for the opinion, present experts without them losing credibility or appearing partisan, and learn how to protect expert on the witness stand.

Provides sample clauses for family law agreements and commentary on when and how to use these clauses with concise discussions of current law, practice tips and tax implications. Included are sample separation, cohabitation and marriage agreements.

Guide to the Employment Standards Act and Regulation. Includes employment standards issues, authoritative commentary, and coverage of recent court and tribunal decisions and legislative developments in British Columbia.

Explains the basic concepts in family law, ethical obligations, and division of responsibilities in a family law practice, as well as effective client and file management.

Identifies the applicable legal principles and practice in family law cases, featuring concise statements of the legal principles in many important areas.

Provides legal and practical information to barristers seeking or opposing interlocutory injunctions in the British Columbia courts.

Provides an overview chapter that outlines the key changes of the Family Law Act that came into force on March 18, 2013, followed by a chapter focusing on the duties, roles, and skills that will be required under the new Act. Includes the Ministry of Justice explanations on the reasons behind the sections as well as commentary.

Guide for use both in trial preparation and at the counsel table on how to effectively and confidently introduce evidence in a civil or criminal trial.

Deals exclusively with electronic land title forms.

Explains the practice which has been adopted by the land title office; illustrates, with examples, the documents and instruments acceptable to the registrar; and provides summaries of the case law and cross references to other publications.

Provides a review of how the Local Government Act and the Charter work with other legislation to govern each aspect of local government law, and offers insights into how the courts of British Columbia and other Canadian "broad municipal powers" jurisdictions view local government laws.

Guide to conducting hearings before the registrar in the Supreme Court of British Columbia and the Court of Appeal for BC covering all procedural and substantive issues.

Guide to practice and procedure under the Small Claims Act. Its step-by-step approach provides information about small claims practice.

How to simplify legal proceedings involving the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee.

Features overviews of the WESA and the Probate Rules, detailed tables of concordance, and full, annotated versions of the WESA and Probate Rules.

Collection of sample will clauses and documents including representation agreements and many other BC-focused precedents.

Includes the complete up-to-date text of the Small Claims Act and Rules, and digests of important small claims and appeal cases