Latin American Studies

Drawing from the Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago, this database includes papers of early pioneers and explorers; emigrants guides; manuscript travel journals; store catalogues; illustrations; maps and more. There are also rich resources for the study of Texas, Mexico and the South. Literary and historical works, contemporary newspapers and posters all enable a better understanding of the real and mythic West.

Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 150 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

Confidential Print offers papers generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices, from one page letters or telegrams to large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked "Confidential Print" were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to Heads of British missions abroad. The current collection focus is Canada, the Caribbean and the United States.

A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Specific to Latin America are the following collections: Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010; The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962; The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection of Documents, From the Bay of Pigs to the Brink of Nuclear War; El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1984; El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980-1994; Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999; Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978-1990; Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000: Introduction.

The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

Feminism in Cuba, is a collection compiled from Cuban sources, spanning the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.

On completion, the Latin American Newspapers Collection will include approximately 35 fully searchable newspapers printed throughout this region in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Plays, prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers in the US.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1890 to 1920. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia.

A collection of pamphlets, tracts, memoirs, congressional legislation, correspondence, broadsides, biographies, histories, fiction and poetry, eulogies, sermons and innumerable other genres. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, Sabin reaches into all aspects of western history and culture. It touches upon the political and religious life in the U.S, Canada and Mexico as well as reaching into South American and the Caribbean.

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

SUR, one of the most important and influential literary magazines published in Latin America in the twentieth century, is now available as a full-text searchable, digital archive. The collections contains images of the complete run of the magazine including covers, photographs and advertisements with an interface in both Spanish and English.