Article Indexes and eJournal Databases
- CiNii Research/ArticlesCinii provides bibliographic information for articles published in Japanese journals from the 1950s to present. Use your keywords to locate particular articles that are relevant to your subject. Although many articles are available in full text, several are only accessible in print. Check the UBC Library Catalogue see if the Library has the print or email your librarian for assistance at tomoko.kitayama@ubc.ca.
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei 雑誌記事索引集成"The Complete Database for Japanese Magazines and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present." This article index provides citation information for articles published from the Meiji period on. The database includes the full National Diet Library periodicals index (Zasshi kiji sakuin), but is especially useful for those looking for resources published before 1948.
- Web OYA-bunkoWeb OYA-bunko indexes serial publications held by Ōya Sōichi Bunko, a periodical library in Tokyo with a comprehensive collection of approximately 12,000 popular journals. Coverage: 1988-present. Not full-text.
- J-StageJ-STAGE is an electronic journal platform developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST). J-Stage promotes open access and 90+% of articles from journals, conference proceedings, research reports, and others, are free to read.
- CiNii DissertationsA database containing information on approximately 600,000 dissertations written in Japan conferred by Japanese Universities and the National Institute for Academic Degrees and Quality Enhancement of Higher Education.
Newspaper Article Databases
- Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチFull-text access to Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞 (1879-present), Shūkan Asahi 週刊朝日 (1985-present), and AERA (1985-present). Also includes the Historical Photo Archive (coverage 1930s-1945) and Asahi gurafu アサヒ・グラフ (1923-1945), a pictorial magazine.
- FactivaOffers full-text access to 35,000+ global news and information sources from 200 countries in 26 languages.Includes recent issues of Mainichi shinbun 毎日新聞, Sankei shinbun 産経新聞, Yomiuri shinbun 読売新聞, and other Japanese language news sources.
Watch a 5-minute video on how to find Japanese newspapers in Factiva.
- Nexis UniProvides access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. Includes Japanese web news coverage for the last 90 days.
- Yomidas (Yomiuri Database Service) ヨミダスFull-text access to Yomiuri Shinbun 読売新聞 (1874-present). Also includes Daily Yomiuri / The Japan News, an English language daily published by Yomiuri (1989-present).