Legend
limited to UBC students, faculty & staff (Connect to Library Resources or Library Access Browser Extension)
limited to UBC's Allard School of Law students & faculty
Law Library at Allard Hall
Law Journal Articles & Indexes
Locating law journal articles on the topic you are researching can be invaluable. Journal articles tend to focus on narrower legal issues, and the authors often gather together all of the relevant law pertaining to the subject-matter being discussed. Articles are especially useful for commentary on emerging areas of the law, and areas undergoing change.
All online legal periodical indexes can be accessed via the Law Library homepage at law.library.ubc.ca by clicking on Legal Periodical lndexes.
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature via Westlaw Edge Canada's LawSource• Provides thorough coverage of Canadian law journal articles
• Also includes: case comments & annotations for more than 200 Canadian legal and law-related periodicals
• Indexes books, individual essays from edited collections, federal & provincial government publications, and publications of law faculties & legal research institutes & associations, including theses
• Also available via Westlaw Edge Canada or Lexis+ accounts.
• A print version is available at LAW LIBRARY Reference Room (level 2): KE1 .I532. - Scott Index of Canadian Law PeriodicalsFormerly the Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature (1998-)
• Covers over 20,000 texts including articles published in more than a hundred Canadian law journals, legal articles published in journals from related fields, texts from legal conferences, and case comments.
• Note: Website is in French, but can search for English material here.
• Print version at LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE8 .I53 (1961-2006) provides references to some law-related articles not found in ICLL and includes Author/Title Index, Table of Cases and Book Review Index - Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals via HeinOnlineIndexes articles and book reviews in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. This multilingual index provides in-depth coverage of comparative and foreign law, public and private international law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, Canada, Australia and the United Kingdom. A print version covering the period 1960-1995 is located at LAW LIBRARY Reference Room (level 2): K 33 I527.
- LegalTrac This link opens in a new window• Indexes articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law & bar association journals, & legal newspapers on US Federal and State Cases, Laws and Government Regulations, Legal Practice
• Provides links to some full text & includes selective coverage of British Commonwealth, European Union and international law journals
• List of indexed publications
- Legal Periodicals & Books (1982 - )• Provides thorough coverage of American law journals & selective coverage of law journals from various Commonwealth countries, including Canada
• Indexes articles from over 615 law journals & provides subject access to over 2000 law books annually. List of indexed journals - Legal Journals Index (LJI) via Westlaw Edge Canada (identifier: LJI)• Indexes over 700 law journals from the UK, EU, and Ireland, and provides citations to articles, case law, and legislative comments
- Interdisciplinary and News Indexes & DatabasesA number of Interdisciplinary and News Indexes & Databases are accessible from the Law Library homepage at law.library.ubc.ca under the More link in the Research Resources section.
Finding Journals
From the UBC Library's "Search Collections" bar: Use the "Journals" pull-down menu to select "Print & Electronic Journal" and enter title. e.g. International Legal Materials
From the UBC Library catalogue's default Basic Search tab, enter the journal title in the "within Journal Title (begins with)" drop down menu box.
e.g. International Legal Materials
Note: does not list journals in WestlawNext Canada 
or LexisNexis Quicklaw
Alternative Journal Search Engines
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports).
Interdisciplinary Research & News Sources
To link to key subject-specific indexes & databases, visit the UBC Library's Research Guides.
- Interdisciplinary and News Indexes & DatabasesProvides links to databases in business, life sciences, social sciences, women's studies, and more.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowCanadian Newsstream offers the full text of almost 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail, National Post and the Vancouver Sun.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides access to a deep archive of news and business information, allowing users to conduct in-depth research on companies, industries, regional affairs.
- Newspapers and News SourcesAn excellent guide to the UBC Library’s extensive collection of current and historical newspapers; provides access to newspapers from Canada, the U.S. and International sources in online, print and other formats.