|
X̱wi7x̱wa Library Guide
Featured Articles
- Amsterdam, L. J. (2013). All the Eagles and the Ravens in the House Say Yeah: Original Hip-Hop, Heritage and Love. American Indian Culture and Research Journal, 37(2), 53.This paper explores how hip-hop artists mobilize sound and style to manage loss, build new futures, and create resilient communities. Embracing an "untraditional" medium, young people contest settler violence and hegemonies of shame by expressing unique, politicized possibilities of being Indigenous, or what I am calling (ab)originality: a style of being first, fresh, and foremost. Heritage is an act of reverent rebellion: an individual honors continuity, but defies the trappings of tradition, which shackle Indigeneity to the geography and the customs of the past. Through love and creativity, artists claim visibility, voice, and everywhere.
- Browner, T. (1997). "Breathing the Indian Spirit": Thoughts on Musical Borrowing and the "Indianist" Movement in American Music. American Music, 15(3), 265-284.Indianist music, which lasted roughly from 1890 to 1925, illustrates a distinct kind of nationalistic cross-cultural appropriation that is different from the more common practice of composers' use of folk tunes from their own ethnic heritage.
- Fox, K. M. (2011). Juxtaposing Aboriginal Hip-Hop, Local Heavy Metal Scenes, and Questioning Public Recreation/Leisure Services. Musicultures, 38, 88-101.In this examination of spatio-temporal requirements for music-making, the authors argue that, although differently positioned, both Canadian urban Aboriginal hip-hop and local heavy metal cultures must struggle against numerous odds to simply create their music, not to mention find venues and audience that can support musicans while resisting dominant societal forces to voice themes of diversity and social justice.
- Lashua, B. D. (2010;2006;). “Just Another Native?” Soundscapes, Chorasters, and Borderlands in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. (pp. 391-410). Thousand Oaks: SAGE Publications, Inc.This article discusses soundscapes created by young people participating in The Beat of Boyle Street, an in-school recreation-based project that teaches inner-city, at-risk youth to make music using computers and audio production software. Participants are predominantly Aboriginal youth, ages 14 to 20, living in poverty and confronting other challenges, including disabilities, addictions, parenting issues, racism, homelessness, and the vicissitudes of life “on the streets.”
- Manzo, J., & Potts, J. J. (2013). Rez Style: Themes of Resistance in Canadian Aboriginal Rap Music. Canadian Journal of Native Studies, 33(1), 169.This study concerns Aboriginal rap music and its performers in Alberta, Canada, and factors that inform their preference for and unique expression of this type of music by focusing on the artists' lyrical content and their narrative reflections on their music and its messages. Methodologically, this study deploys ethnographic content analysis of song lyrics as well as data gleaned from qualitative interviewing of Aboriginal rap artists. Of particular focus in this paper is how rap music expresses themes of political resistance and empowerment, themes that delineate many of the deleterious consequences of Aboriginal Canadian experiences following European colonization, and how expression of these themes is enabled by the artists' resolute insistence on maintaining the foundational "political" and consciousness-raising roots of rap music as an art form.
- McEwan, A., Crouch, A., Robertson, H., & Fagan, P. (2013). The Torres Indigenous Hip Hop Project: Evaluating the Use of Performing Arts as a Medium for Sexual Health Promotion. Health Promotion Journal of Australia: Official Journal of Australian AssociatThe Torres Indigenous Hip Hop Project (the Project) was conducted in the Torres and Northern Peninsula Area of Queensland during early 2010. This paper provides a critical analysis of project outcomes and identifies criteria that may form a suitable framework for the assessment of proposals for sexual health promotion using performing arts-based approaches in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander settings.
- Recollet, K. (2016). Gesturing Indigenous Futurities Through the Remix. Dance Research Journal, 48(1), 91-105.Recollet offers a spatial and gestural analysis of Vancouver-based multi-media art collective Skookum Sound System's digital remixed video Ay I Oh Stomp. She explores how this remixing intervenes in settler colonialism's disappearances and erasures, to illustrate the ways the video (particularly its activations of dance, movement and gesture) mobilize ongoing Indigenous presencing into futurity.
- Rovito, A., & Giles, A. R. (2016). Outside Looking In: Resisting Colonial Discourses of Aboriginality. Leisure Sciences, 38(1), 1-16.This article examines the ways in which the staff and members of the board of directors of Outside Looking In (OLI), a youth development through arts- and leisure-based program for Aboriginal youth in Canada, respond to discourses about Aboriginality. It reflects Aboriginal youth's contemporary cultural interests in hip-hop, it integrates kinesthetic education into Eurocentric learning regimes, and its participants return the colonial gaze at OLI's annual performance.
Summon
TIP: Limit your results to journal articles by selecting Content Type: Journal Article (under "Refine Your Search" on the left-hand side of the screen). You can also filter by publication date, academic discipline, and language; limit your result to peer reviewed publications; and exclude certain formats (e.g. newspapers) from your results.
TIP: Use quotation marks to search for a phrase (e.g. "First Nations"). Use an asterisk to truncate a term to search for words with the same stem (e.g. Curric* retrieves Curriculum, Curricula, Curricular, etc.).
Keyword Searches for Articles in Summon
To search for articles in Summon, refine your search through the left side bar and select the journal articles option. The search can be limited more through excluding other facets when "More" is pressed underneath the "Content Type" section.
Combine keywords relating to the concept of Indigenous identity AND keywords about Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls. For example:
|
|
|
AND
Helpful Hints for Keyword Searches
- Use quotation marks to search for a phrase.
Example: "Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women" -
Use a question mark or asterisk to truncate a term to search for words with the same stem.
Example: crim? or crim* retrieves crime, crimes, criminal, and criminology
Databases
- Academic Search CompleteIndexes over 10,000 journals, with many full-text articles.
Subject Terms: First Nations, Métis, Inuit, Native Americans, Aboriginal Australians, Indigenous peoples, names of specific nations.
Some articles have no Subject Terms assigned, so also try full-text searches. - Canadian Music Periodical IndexCMPI is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. CMPI is a free service provided by Library and Archives of Canada.
- Encyclopedia of Music in CanadaThe Encyclopedia of Music in Canada describes the full breadth and depth of Canadas musical culture, including the historical and current aspects of popular, folk, religious, concert and other forms of music.
- First Nations Periodical IndexMainly First Nations/Aboriginal Canadian content. Searchable index of 20 Aboriginal newspapers, magazines and periodicals.
- JSTOR CollectionFull-text searching of hundreds of journal titles in the sciences, humanities, social sciences, business, and more. Searches can result in hundreds or thousands of hits, so use the "Advanced Search" to narrow your search down. Search terms: First Nations, Native American, Indigenous, Aboriginal.
- Music and Performing Arts DatabaseMusic and Performing Arts is a portal which provides access to all of UBC library's Alexander Street Press music and performing arts databases. The gateway allows for cross-searching across the databases as well as entry to individual products.
- Music Periodicals DatabaseInternational Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) is the ultimate resource for music periodicals available on the web. It provides indexing and abstracts for 445 international music periodicals from over 20 countries.
- North American Indian Thought and CultureBrings together more than 100,000 pages of personal stories, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. Fifty-four volumes, representing 15,000 pages, are from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries alone. Additional materials bring coverage through the present day. Virtually all North American regions are represented.
- Project MuseFull-text collection of over 400 humanities and social sciences journals. Use the "Advanced Search" to narrow down your results. Search terms: First Nations, Native American, Indigenous, Aboriginal.
Terminology Guides for Journalists
"If you are unsure about names and terms, ask the Aboriginal people you’re reporting on which term they prefer." (From Reporting in Indigenous Communities).
- Key Terminology Guidebook (Strategic Alliance of Broadcasters for Aboriginal Reflection)Addresss topics of identity and citizenship; culture and traditions; governance; and rights, policy, and politics. (2012).
- Lexicon and Terminology (Reporting in Indigenous Communities)Includes discussion of the terms: Tribal Affiliation, Indian, Native, Aboriginal, First Nations, and Indigenous.
- Style Guide for Reporting on Indigenous People (Journalists for Human Rights)Includes sections on Indigenous People in Canada, First Nations, Métis, Inuit, and Two Spirit People. Please note that the Inuit section of this guide contains several errors that have been replicated in the Canadian Press Stylebook. (December 2017).
- "Reporting in Indigenous communities: 5 tips to get it right" (CBC)Newspaper article. Published November 2016. Gitxsan journalist Angela Sterritt shares tips on stereotyping, historical context, and other ways to think critically about our sources.
Music-Specific Article Indexes & Databases
- The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music OnlineThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
- Encycolpedia of Music in CanadaThe Encyclopedia of Music in Canada describes the full breadth and depth of Canadas musical culture, including the historical and current aspects of popular, folk, religious, concert and other forms of music. Helmut Kallmann, Gilles Potvin and Kenneth Winters were co-editors of the first print edition, which appeared in 1981. Kallmann and Potvin co-edited the second print edition (1992), along with associate editors Robin Elliott, Mark Miller and Claire Versailles.
- Canadian Music Periodical IndexAn index of articles published in Canadian music periodicals and focused on various aspects of musical activity in Canada. It is a free service provided by the National Library of Canada. Entries are from Canadian journals, newsletters and magazines dating from the late 19th century to present day.
- Music IndexThe single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index Online has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index Online coverage spans from 1972 to the present and contains surveyed data from over 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries. This database duly cites book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. They cover all styles and genres of music and cites book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
- Music Periodicals DatabaseAn index with a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone. Indexed articles cover the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. Includes some full text.