Research Guides: Indigenous Films and Filmmakers: Streaming Video

Streaming Content and Library Online Course Reserves (LOCR)

IMPORTANT: Course instructors should enter streaming video titles into LOCR if they are recommending films to their students. Many streamed video databases are subscription-based and access to individual titles can be time-limited. If titles have been entered into LOCR then Library staff will be able to contact instructors before access is lost.

Please note that not all streaming content is indexed in Summon. If a title does not come up in the LOCR search use the manual form entry link that appears when items are not found to enter in the relevant information about the title including director, year, etc. If UBC Library does not own/have access to the title, Library staff will automatically investigate the options available and communicate these to the course instructor.

Streaming Video at UBC

The following is a selection of video streaming resources available through UBC Library. For a comprehensive list, see Streaming Video @ UBC in the Film - Finding and Using research guide.

Ethnographic Video Online
This collection covers every region of the world and features the work of documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Global Environmental Justice Collection
The documentaries in this collection are suitable for use in a wide range of subject areas including Asian, Indigenous and environmental studies, geography, film making, journalism, anthropology, conservation biology, forestry, soil sciences, religion and the humanities.
Kanopy
On-demand streaming for educational institutions. Content includes documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Explore subjects such as: "Indigenous Studies," "Indigenous Artists," "Indigenous Rights," and more.
NFB Campus (National Film Board)
Online viewing of films produced by the National Film Board of Canada, including animation, documentaries, experimental productions, and alternative dramas. Explore subjects such as: "Indigenous Peoples in Canada (First Nations and Métis)," "Indigenous Peoples in Canada (Inuit)," and "Indigenous Peoples outside Canada," and more.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Learn about Indigenous peoples’ experiences from their own point of view. This collection contains multiple formats, including text, image, audio, and video.

Short Films Online

8th Fire Dispatches
A series of short audio-visual narratives showcasing Indigenous filmmakers and storytellers across Canada.
Inuktitube
YouTube for people who speak Inuktitut.
IsumaTV
Indigenous community videos in 70 languages.
5 Must See Sci-Fi Films (A Tribe Called Geek)
Curated by A Tribe Called Geek, these shorts reflect the rise of Indigenous science fiction and futurism.
Vistas (NFB and APTN)
Thirteen films from Indigenous filmmakers across Canada on the subject of nationhood.
Drawing Wisdom - Story Portal
Drawing Wisdom is a Hello Cool World initiative exploring the roots of resilience through creative wellness projects within Indigenous communities.
Global Environmental Justice Collection
Documentaries in this collection that may be of interest: Tar Creek, Yindabad, Homeland, People of a Feather, and Arrows Against the Wind.
Encore+
A YouTube channel by the Canadian Media Fund featuring Canadian content. Search for broad terms like "Indigenous" or more specific ones like "Cree". You can also search for individual films and filmmakers.
STORYHIVE - Indigenous Collection
Since 2013, STORYHIVE has funded productions and supported emerging filmmakers with mentorship and support from the National Screen Institute, bringing hundreds of films to life online and around the world.