From Ptolemy's projection of the world--still the basic map after 13 centuries--to Tolkien's cartography of Middle Earth (the most printed guide to a non-existent place ever), each of these maps has its own fascinating story to tell. Escape maps, military maps, cartographic breakthroughs, and follies and forgeries: these 100 maps, organized chronologically, are the most important, dramatic, and breathtakingly beautiful ever created.
With more than one hundred maps and other illustrations and an introduction and running commentary by Ralph E. Ehrenberg, this book tells a fascinating story of geographic discovery, scientific invention, and the art and technique of mapmaking.
Imago Mundi is the only English-language scholarly periodical devoted exclusively to the history of pre-modern maps, mapping, and map-related ideas from anywhere in the world. UBC students, staff and faculty have access to the electronic full-text journal articles from 1935 - present
Since its inception in 1872, the National Archives of Canada has acquired, preserved and commemorated the cartographic heritage of Canada. Today, these holdings include some of the earliest known visual representations of Canada and constitute the largest cartographic description of our country. Researchers have access to these records through a variety of finding aids including the widely consulted "old card catalogue." The database presented here provides access to this catalogue.
To help you get a clearer picture of British North America's territorial evolution, this section provides a series of maps that recount important moments in Canada's history. These maps cover the period from the French colonial era of the seventeenth century to the creation of Nunavut in 1999.
In addition to Cambridge University's extensive paper collections it is also possible to access a selection of digital maps online and from within the Map Room. These fall primarily into three categories: Current and historic Ordnance Survey map data ; scans of some of the most important historical and rare items in the collections ; map images available online from non-University sources.
OldMapsOnline developed out of a love of history and heritage of old maps. The project began as a collaboration between Klokan Technologies GmbH, Switzerland and The Great Britain Historical GIS Project based at the University of Portsmouth, UK thanks to funding from JISC.
UBC Open Collections
UBC Library's Open Collections include digital photos, books, newspapers, maps, videos, theses, and more. These publicly-accessible collections are constantly growing and reflect the research interests of the UBC community and beyond.