Online Journals & Databases
- BC & Western Canada Through Arriving Eyes
The collection includes scientific journal and newspaper articles as well as a list of serial publications.
- JSTOR
Search the full text of this extensive collection of major scholarly journals. Search everything or just journals in specific disciplines.
- Peel's Prairie Provinces
The website contains almost 5,000,000 digitized newspaper articles and ca. 67,000 newspaper issues.
- Web of Science
The Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index together cover several thousand academic journals. Use for citation analysis of research journals.
- Art Full Text
Index of journals published 1984 to the present.
- Art Index Retrospective
Index of journals published 1929-1984.
- Google Scholar
World's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts).
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Searching Summon
Summon is a single access point to find most of the UBC Library collections including: scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles and databases.
German-Canadian Journals
Seminar: A Journal of Germanic Studies by
Founded in 1965, Seminar is one of the leading journals today for the study of Germanic literature, media and culture. It seeks to publish the highest-quality scholarship on a range of fields including philology, philosophy, aesthetics, media studies, visual culture, gender studies, and transnationalism in so far as they relate to German-language material or other languages in a German-cultural context. Seminar is available in print and online.
German-Canadian Yearbook by
All volumes have stories of German immigrants. For example Volume XVIII p. 224 Kurt H. Schleiermacher’s poem “Daemmerung” or Gertrud Neuner-Lowe “Einwanderung 1948”, prose Schleiermacher “Eine aufregende Nacht in den Waeldern von Kanada”. Also review of diaries etc.
Zeitschrift für Kanada-Studien by
The Zeitschrift für Kanada-Studien (ZKS) is the journal of the Gesellschaft für Kanada-Studien/Association for Canadian Studies. It was founded in 1981 and appears semi-annually. In accordance with Canadian Studies, it follows an inter- and multidisciplinary approach and adheres to a trilingual conception (German, English, French).
German-Canadian Newspapers
Sudenten-Bote by
The Sudeten clubs in Hamilton (1941), Montreal (1952), Tomslake, British Columbia (1959) and Edmonton (1960), were found by the refugees of 1939. They and the post-World War II expelles agreed in 1957 to form a joint umbrella organization, the Central Alliance of Sudeten German Organizations in Canada (Zentralverband sudetendeutscher Organisationen in Kanada). It maintained ties with both the Seliger-Gemeinde, an international union of Sudeten German social democratic exiles, and the more nationalist Sudetendeutsche Landsmannschaft in Germany.
- Winnipeger Sonntagsbote der Deutschen Baptisten-Kirche by
Nachgewiesen 1928,3; danach Erscheinung eingestellt.