Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles and Newspaper Articles
Articles are one of the most commonly used types of information in academic research in economics. Peer-reviewed articles generally report on a specific study, topic or theory of analysis. The EconLit database is the most effective place to search for peer-reviewed articles from economics journals. The EconLit database is created by the American Economics Association and uses a structured set of terms (a thesaurus) to link articles together by topic. This means that you can effectively search using keywords, or browse using structured hyperlinks of common economic terms. This system of organization is also called the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) classification system and it can be a helpful starting point when constructing a formal literature review. The link below to the EconLit database is the best place to start:
-
EconLit Core literature on global economics /American Economic Association Use for: researching scholarly topics in economics, business and public management.
Many economics research questions are also interdisciplinary and it can be valuable to search beyond journals that focus on economics. There are numerous databases (or search engines) that we recommend. In an interdisciplinary database there is often an option to filter by discipline, allowing you to easily review sources of information from different fields of study. You may also find too many results when using keyword searches; in this case, limiting your search to the abstract field (an option in the dropdown menu next to where you type keywords) can be an effective way to improve your search results. The following list of interdisciplinary database are recommended:
-
ABI/INFORM Collection ABI/INFORM Collection is a comprehensive business database, which contains journals, business periodicals, dissertations, and country-and industry-focused reports.
-
Business Source Ultimate Provides access to journal articles, books and videos related to business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Use for finding articles, case studies, and company and industry information.
-
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Includes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.
-
Scopus Search citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
-
Web of Science Core Collection Multidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
Newspaper articles are a common information source in economics as current events can be the spark of a research question, or the focus of analysis. UBC Library provides access to many current and historical newspapers and maintains guide that provides links to access:
We've also included a few links here to frequently requested newspapers with economics content:
