eBook Collections at UBC Library

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences.

Forty titles covering fields as diverse as materials science, biophysics, optics and photonics, chemical physics, nanotechnology, condensed matter, mathematical physics, and applied physics and engineering.

Provides select access to journals, ebooks, and the Style Guide to Scholarly Communication, all published by the American Chemical Society. All Symposium Series ebooks from 2017 to Present now available.

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.

Provides bibliographic access to all ASCE publications including citations and abstracts for ASCE journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers published since 1970.

The Association of Canadian University Presses/Association Des Presses Universitaires Canadiennes (ACUP) collection of ebooks provides access to all books published by the member university presses from 2014 to present. Includes UBC Press, U of Toronto Press, U of Alberta Press, McGill-Queens University Press, and more.

Access to 14,000+ ebooks from Bloomsbury, including imprints Bloomsbury, Hart, I.B. Tauris, and Zed.

Collection of full text e-books for medicine, nursing and pharmacy.

Online access to all of Brill's subject, series, and special collections (except German collections). Focus on the humanities, social sciences, and education for titles published after 2008.

Introductory textbooks covering business and management topics such as accounting, supply chain management, cultural issues, and sustainability.

Includes the full text of over 380 volumes published since 1960 covering over 15 different academic subjects.

Provides access to over 30,000 ebooks and more than 380 peer-reviewed journals. Ebooks include the partner presses including Edinburgh University Press, Liverpool University Press, Anthem Press, Facet Publishing.

Canada Commons is an unmatched resource for Canadian content. The bilingual (English-French) interface gives Canadian readers access to all content in their language of choice.

Hundreds of the titles are free to UBC users, among 360,000 titles in total. 40% of the titles are published in recent years. Please select the titles that you need, and the librarian will need to approve the purchase before we gain the full text access to the selected titles.

Access to over 1,400 Chinese ebooks focusing on the humanities and social sciences.

Digital editions of French and Francophone literature from the middle ages to the twentieth century. The Library has purchased the 2021 and onwards ebook frontlist for 28 subcollections. Titles will be made available on publication.

Colloquium provides access to short (50-120 pp) electronic books (referred to as "lectures") that synthesize an essential scientific topic in the biomedical/life sciences.

Ebook collections on the de Gruyter platform for the University Presses of Bristol/Policy Press, Central European University Press, Columbia, Cornell, Edinburgh, Harvard, Hawai'i, Pennsylvania, Princeton, Rutgers, Stanford, University of California, University of Chicago, and Yale, along with Berghahn, Multilingual Matters. Collections vary by publication date; not all titles are available for all publishers. Most collections date from 2000 to current, with some gaps for 2014--2018.

Includes over 2700 books published by Duke University Press.

From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection, a compendium of broadsides on the English Civil War printed between 1640 and 1661, and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.

Includes scholarly research monographs, research handbooks, companions, dictionaries, encyclopedia & journals across Law, Business, Economics, and the Social Sciences. All titles from 2017 to present, with some access to earlier titles.

Elsevier ScienceDirect ebooks from 2017 to current. Covers scientific and medical research.

Includes two major ebook collections published by Emerald:
- Emerald Social Sciences eBook Series Collection, which currently includes more than 1100 volumes from over 82 book series titles. This collection will be of interest to researchers in the fields of education, environmental management/environment, health care management/healthcare, language and linguistics and sociology and public policy.
- Emerald Business, Management and Economics eBook Series Collection, which currently offers online access to a growing collection of over 1800 volumes from more than 120 book series titles. Features topical, international and authoritative content from many fields including strategy, economics, accounting and finance and human resource management. NOTE: Currently have temporary access to the full collection.

Books on academic study of law as well as to its development and practical implementation.

Covers business, computer science and IT, education, library and info science, science and engineering, humanities, social sciences, and more. Access to ebooks in their collection from 2000 to current date.

Collection of Japanese reference resources such as translation dictionaries and encyclopedias. Also includes the full-text e-versions of Shin Nihon koten bungaku zenshū and select Tōyō bunko works. Limit of 2 concurrent users.

Access to all 4000+ John Benjamins ebooks in the areas of Linguistics, Translation Studies and Terminology, Psychology, Philosophy, Literary Studies, Art and Art History, and more.

Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Ebooks from a variety of scholarly publishers are available.

Korean Studies Information (KSI) provides access to ebooks on various subjects.

Access to over 3000 ebooks published on the MIT Press platform. Key subject areas include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.

The Oxford Handbooks contain specially-commissioned essays with referencing to further reading, and provides relevant information for scholars, advanced students and practitioners. UBC LIbary has purchased all collections for all dates.

Hosts Oxford University Press' medical titles; over 1000 books in the collection.

Access to about 500 Peter Lang ebooks in arts, humanities, education, social sciences, in English and German. Also access to about 800 Open Access titles.

Provides full-text access to content from 120 not-for-profit publishers. University Press Content Consortium (UPCC) Books on Project MUSE offer thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from major university presses and scholarly publishers. UBC Library has purchased 2012-2015 collections and related supplemental collections.

The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) is a professional association devoted to fostering interactions between mathematics and other scientific and technological communities through membership activities, publication of journals and books, and conferences.

Multidisciplinary database of full text publications published by Springer, Nature, and Palgrave. UBC Library has access to over 125,000 ebooks published from 2005 (some imprints exclusions)

Synthesis provides access to short (50-100 pp) electronic books (referred to as "lectures") that synthesize a research topic in engineering or computer science. The lectures are grouped in series, each having an editor prominent in the field. Sample series include: Biomedical Engineering, Computer Architecture, Digital Circuits and Systems, Engineers, Technology and Society, Mobile and Pervasive Computing, Solid State Materials and Devices, and more.

Provides access to over 100,000 multidisciplinary ebooks from Taylor & Francis. Imprints include Routledge, CRC Press, and Garland Science.

University of Michigan Press publishes and distributes books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences. Subject areas they focus on include: classical studies, political science, American studies (including disability and class studies), as well as Asian and African studies.
UBC has perpetual access to the 2021 frontlist collection as well as temporary access to all available backlist titles.

University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) offers full-text access to the ebooks from Oxford University Press, and 24 other university and academic presses across all disciplines. UBC Library owns all Oxford UP titles from 2017 to present, plus some earlier works from Oxford and other publishers.

Provides access to over 22,000 online books covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social sciences and the humanities.