Computer Science

The Handbook of Logic in Computer Science is a multi-volume work covering all major areas of application of logic to theoretical computer science. The Handbook comprises six volumes. Each volume contains five or six chapters, giving an in-depth overview of one of the major topics in thefield. It is the result of many years of co-operative effort by some of the most eminent frontline researchers in the area. It will no doubt be the standard reference work in logic and theoretical computer science for years to come - essential reading for all those interested in theoretical computerscience and logic. volumes cover the background to the subject in terms of mathematical and computational structures. The authors are chosen on an international basis and are leaders in the fields covered. The Handbook is a closely coordinated work which has been under development for the past fiveyears.

This new edition of the Dictionary of Computing has been extensively revised by a team of computer specialists to incorporate the developments of the last five years. There are now over 6,000 entries--2,000 more than in the third edition--and a comprehensive cross-referencing system. The wide range of topics covered includes computer applications in industry, the office, science, education, and the home; the means of achieving these applications--the hardware, software, computer organization, telecommunictions, and user interaction; security, safety, and legal issues; underlying concepts and theories in computing and associated fields; and major computer manufacturers and organizations. Special emphasis has been placed on the terms widely used in relation to personal computers and computer networks. This fourth edition will prove invaluable to students and teachers of computing, and everyone who uses computers in the home, lab, or business.

Human Computer Interaction (HCI) attracts innovation and creativity because of its multi-disciplinary nature, in computing and IT research and development. For the last 25 years, it inspired new solutions, specially, for the benefit of the user as a human being, making the user the focal point which technology should serve rather than the other way round.The Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction is the most thorough and definitive source providing coverage of everything related to the field of human computer interaction (HCI). This encyclopedia covers a wide range of HCI related topics such as concepts, design, usability, evaluation, innovations, and applications of HCI in organizations around the globe. Over 120 contributors and advisors from around the world have conferred their expertise to this publication, and with over 830 key terms and definitions as well as more than 2,600 references, this encyclopedia is the single source of authoritative and contemporary research in field of human computer interaction.The Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction also includes coverage of real life experiences and cases of HCI and the lessons learned helping readers to learn extensively about this important field of study.

Computers are more prevalent in our daily lives than ever before

This dynamic reference work provides solutions to vital algorithmic problems for scholars, researchers, practitioners, teachers and students in fields such as computer science, mathematics, statistics, biology, economics, financial software, and medical informatics.  This second edition is broadly expanded, building upon the success of its former edition with more than 450 new and updated entries. These entries are designed to ensure algorithms are presented from growing areas of research such as bioinformatics, combinatorial group testing, differential privacy, enumeration algorithms, game theory, massive data algorithms, modern learning theory, social networks, and VLSI CAD algorithms. Over 630 entries are organized alphabetically by problem, with subentries allowing for distinct solutions. Each entry includes a description of the basic algorithmic problem; the input and output specifications; key results; examples of applications; citations to key literature, open problems, experimental results, links to data sets and downloadable code. All entries are peer-reviewed, written by leading experts in the field--and each entry contains links to a summary of the author's research work.  This defining reference is available in both print and online--a dynamic living work with hyperlinks to related entries, cross references citations, and a myriad other valuable URLs. New and Updated entries include: Algorithmic Aspects of Distributed Sensor Networks,  Algorithms for Modern Computers  Bioinformatics  Certified Reconstruction and Mesh Generation  Combinatorial Group Testing  Compression of Text and Data Structures  Computational Counting  Computational Economics  Computational Geometry  Differential Privacy  Enumeration Algorithms  Exact Exponential Algorithms  Game Theory  Graph Drawing  Group Testing  Internet Algorithms  Kernels and Compressions  Massive Data Algorithms  Mathematical Optimization  Modern Learning Theory  Social Networks  Stable Marriage Problems, k-SAT Algorithms  Sublinear Algorithms  Tile Self-Assembly  VLSI CAD Algorithms

The Encyclopedia of Computer Science is the definitive reference incomputer science and technology. First published in 1976, it isstill the only single volume to cover every major aspect of thefield. Now in its Fourth Edition, this influential work provides anhistorical timeline highlighting the key breakthroughs in computerscience and technology, as well as clear and concise explanationsof the latest technology and its practical applications. Its uniqueblend of historical perspective, current knowledge and predictedfuture trends has earned it its richly deserved reputation as anunrivalled reference classic. What sets the Encyclopedia apart from other reference sources isthe comprehensiveness of each of its entries. Encompassing far morethan mere definitions, each article elaborates on a topic giving aremarkable breadth and depth of coverage. The visual impact of thevolume is enhanced with a 16 page colour insert spotlightingadvanced computer applications and computer-generated graphicstechnology. In addition, the text is enlivened with figures,tables, diagrams, illustrations and photographs.   With contributions from over 300 international experts, the 4thEdition contains over 100 completely new articles ranging fromartificial life to computer ethics, data mining to Java, mobilecomputing to quantum computing and software safety to the WorldWide Web. In addition, each of the more than 600 articles have beenextensively revised, expanded and updated to reflect the latestdevelopments in computer science and technology. Intelligently and thoughtfully organised, all the articles areclassified around 9 main themes Hardware Software Computer Systems Information and Data Mathematics of Computing Theory of Computation Methodologies Applications Computing Milieux Within each of these major headings are a wealth of articlesthat provide the reader with concise yet thorough coverage of thetopic. In addition, cross-references are included at the beginningof each article, directing the reader immediately to relatedmaterial. In addition the Encyclopedia contains useful appendicesincluding: An expanded glossary of major terms in English, German, Spanishand Russian A revised list of abbreviations and acronyms An updated list of computer science and engineering researchjournals A list of articles from previous editions not included in the4th edition A Name Index listing almost 3500 individuals cited in thetext A comprehensive General Index with 7000 entries A chronology of significant milestones Computer Society & Academic Computer Science DepartmentListings Numerical Tables, Mathematical Notation and Units ofMeasure Highly-regarded as an essential resource for computerprofessionals, engineers, mathematicians, students and scientists,the Encyclopedia of Computer Science is a must-have reference forevery college, university, business and high-school library.

First Published in 2001. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

When you think about how far and fast computer science has progressed in recent years, it's not hard to conclude that a seven-year old handbook may fall a little short of the kind of reference today's computer scientists, software engineers, and IT professionals need. With a broadened scope, more emphasis on applied computing, and more than 70 chapters either new or significantly revised, the Computer Science Handbook, Second Editionis exactly the kind of reference you need. This rich collection of theory and practice fully characterizes the current state of the field and conveys the modern spirit, accomplishments, and direction of computer science. Highlights of the Second Edition: Coverage that reaches across all 11 subject areas of the discipline as defined in Computing Curricula 2001, now the standard taxonomy More than 70 chapters revised or replaced Emphasis on a more practical/applied approach to IT topics such as information management, net-centric computing, and human computer interaction More than 150 contributing authors--all recognized experts in their respective specialties New chapters on: cryptography computational chemistry computational astrophysics human-centered software development cognitive modeling transaction processing data compression scripting languages event-driven programming software architecture

Computer and Information Security Handbook, Third Edition, provides the most current and complete reference on computer security available in one volume. The book offers deep coverage of an extremely wide range of issues in computer and cybersecurity theory, applications, and best practices, offering the latest insights into established and emerging technologies and advancements. With new parts devoted to such current topics as Cloud Security, Cyber-Physical Security, and Critical Infrastructure Security, the book now has 100 chapters written by leading experts in their fields, as well as 12 updated appendices and an expanded glossary. It continues its successful format of offering problem-solving techniques that use real-life case studies, checklists, hands-on exercises, question and answers, and summaries. Chapters new to this edition include such timely topics as Cyber Warfare, Endpoint Security, Ethical Hacking, Internet of Things Security, Nanoscale Networking and Communications Security, Social Engineering, System Forensics, Wireless Sensor Network Security, Verifying User and Host Identity, Detecting System Intrusions, Insider Threats, Security Certification and Standards Implementation, Metadata Forensics, Hard Drive Imaging, Context-Aware Multi-Factor Authentication, Cloud Security, Protecting Virtual Infrastructure, Penetration Testing, and much more. Online chapters can also be found on the book companion website: https://www.elsevier.com/books-and-journals/book-companion/9780128038437 Written by leaders in the field Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of the latest security technologies, issues, and best practices Presents methods for analysis, along with problem-solving techniques for implementing practical solutions