Core Databases
If you have a specific article you're searching for, Summon is a good place to start. Summon lets you simultaneously search the Library's book collection and many full text journal articles. See the sidebar for tips on searching Summon.
If you're searching for articles on a topic, you'll probably want to search a database which is more focused on computer science than Summon. Here are some starting points for finding computer science journal articles or conference proceedings. Look for the UBC eLink icons to check for full text articles.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowTechnology-related journals, magazines, newsletters and conference proceedings. Use for: Technology topics such as e-commerce, supply chain management, human computer interfaces, RFID, etc.
- Compendex Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowPremier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text electronic journals covering the physical sciences, applied sciences, life sciences, social sciences, business & economics. Also includes reference works, book series, and handbooks.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe IEL database provides fulltext access to more than 140 technical journals, over 1000 standards, and approximately 900 annual conference proceedings published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- SIAM This link opens in a new windowSIAM is devoted to fostering interactions between mathematics and other scientific and technological communities through membership activities, publication of journals and books, and conferences.
- SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to research on all topics of optics and photonics research published in SPIE journals and conference proceedings.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
More Databases
You may also want to search the following databases. Please note that not all of the articles you find in these databases will be available full text. You can check in Summon or the UBC Library Catalogue - or ask a librarian - to see if older articles are available in print at the Library. If UBC does not have an article, you can usually request it through Interlibrary Loan at no charge.
- arXive.orgOpen access repository of e-prints (preprints) in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
- CiteSeerXOpen access digital library that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
- DBLP Computer Science BibliographyOpen access portal to major computer science publications, providing free access to bibliographic metadata and links to electronic publications. This service started at the database systems and logic programming research group of the University of Trier, Germany.
- EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new windowConnects to the general EBSCOhost page which allows you to select any one of the EBSCOhost databases to which the Library subscribes.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature. The Chrome extension Google Scholar Button helps you find full text on the web and in your library.
- JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, and covers a wide range of subjects including: Biology, Botany, History, Mathematics, Political Science, Zoology, and Philosophy.
