Research Guides: Anesthesia: Finding Articles

USING databases and journals for papers

We recommend using the Databases / Interfaces below — such as MEDLINE (OVID) — to perform structured searching.
We recommend PubMed for quick lookups and when you cannot access OVID.
To get started in learning how to search, try our Medline (OVID) Tutorial.
Searching a small set of Key Journals in Anesthesia is also recommended for some types of searching.
To book a search class or consultation with a librarian in anesthesia, contact vanessa.kitchin@ubc.ca or dean.giustini@ubc.ca.

EMBASE (Ovid)
International, European-focused, Elsevier created with ~40 million citations - good for drug-related topics, and conference literature.
Google Scholar
Largest academic search engine (400+ million citations) to locate papers, books, pre-prints and grey literature. Also a citation index.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Premier biomedical database with 35+ million citations. Ovid facilitates structured searching and editing of search histories.
PubMed (1946 - present)
Premier biomedical database with 35 million citations to journal articles in 6000+ journals. See also PubMed Clinical Queries
Scopus
Search citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
Web of Science Core Collection
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.

The following key journals in anesthesia may be worth searching on their own, or in a large batch, to support your research.
To obtain recent lists of top impact factor (IF) journals in anesthesia, see the *Journal Citation Reports (JCR).