Research Guides: Traditional Governance: Self-governance Agreements

Self-governance Agreements

In Canada, Indigenous self-government is primarily established through negotiated agreements between the federal government and Indigenous communities or organizations. These agreements, commonly referred to as "modern treaties" or "comprehensive land claim agreements," typically provide for the recognition and implementation of self-government for Indigenous peoples.

Resources for Researching and Locating Agreements

Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System

ATRIS is a Web-based information system intended to map out the location of Aboriginal communities and display information pertaining to their potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights.

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada: Final Agreements and Related Implementation Matters

These pages contain information about Final Agreements relating to Comprehensive Land Claims and Self-Government. The full text of Agreements can often be located here. Agreements and related materials can be browsed by province.

B.C. Treaty Commission: Negotiations

This site provides lists of Treaties and Agreements, transition agreements, and negotiation updates in B.C.

Nations’ Websites

Many Nations have information about governance available on their website. Full text Agreements are often made available on their sites, as are other documents providing valuable contextual information such as updates about the negotiation process. On this linked page, search for a Nation and view their profile where a website if often listed.

Government of Canada Publications

If the full text of Agreements cannot be found elsewhere, it may be findable through Government of Canada Publications.

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada: Agreements under Negotiation

These pages list Agreements that are currently under negotiation, including Framework Agreements, Agreements-in-Principle, and Memoranda of Understanding. Agreements can be browsed by province.

Global Affairs Canada - Treaty Law Division

Up-to-date records relating to the status of treaties. They can be searched by subject, keyword, or free text.

Justice Laws

Legislation related to Agreements (such as Acts that implement Agreements) can be found on the Justice Laws website.

Select self-governance agreements 1977-1998

Agreement	Year	Description	Related Legislation
James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement	1977	This Agreement was signed by Cree and Inuit representatives, the Governments of Quebec and Canada, the "Société de développement de la Baie James", the "Société d'énergie de la Baie James" and "Hydro-Québec". It is a comprehensive land claim agreement that includes self-government components.	James Bay and Northern Quebec Native Claims Settlement Act (S.C. 1976-77, c. 32) Naskapi and the Cree-Naskapi Commission Act (S.C. 1984, c. 18) Agreement respecting the Implementation of the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement between Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada and Makivik Corporation. Act Respecting Cree, Inuit And Naskapi Native Persons, (CQLR c A-33.1)
Northeastern Quebec Agreement	1978	This Agreement was signed by the Naskapi Band of Schefferville signed the Northeastern Quebec Agreement (NEQA) with the Governments of Quebec and Canada, the "Société de développement de la Baie James", the "Société d'énergie de la Baie James", "Hydro-Québec", the Grand Council of the Crees (of Quebec) and the Northern Quebec Inuit Association. It is a comprehensive land claim agreement that includes self-government components.	Act approving the Northeastern Québec Agreement (CQLR c C-67.1)
Inuvialuit Final Agreement	1984	This Agreement allowed a limited form of local self-government through the creation of the Western Arctic Regional Municipality.	Western Arctic (lnuvialuit) Claims Settlement Act (S.C. 1984, c. 24)
shíshálh Nation Self-Government Act	1986	In 1986, Sechelt became self-governing when it approved the Sechelt Indian Band Self-Government Act, now named the shíshálh Nation Self-Government Act.	shíshálh Nation Self-Government Act (SC 1986, c. 27)
Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement	1993	This Agreement is a framework document that all 14 Yukon First Nations negotiated and agreed to use as the structure for finalizing their individual First Nation Final Agreements. The Nations include: Champagne and Aishihik First Nations First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun Teslin Tlingit Council Vuntut Gwich’in First Nation Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Selkirk First Nation Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in First Nation Ta'an Kwäch'än Council Kluane First Nation Kwanlin Dün First Nation Carcoss/Tagish First Nation 11/14 of these Nations have finalized their land claims and their Final and Self-Government Agreements.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35
The Champagne and Aishihik First Nations Self-government Agreement	1993	This Agreement defines the Nations’ self-government powers. It implements the Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35
The First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun Self-Government Agreement	1993	This Agreement defines the Nations’ self-government powers including law-making, taxation, and programs and services. It implements the Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35
Teslin Tlingit Council Self-Government Agreement	1993	This Agreement defines the Nations’ self-government powers. It implements the Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35
Vuntut Gwich’in First Nation Self-Government Agreement	1993	This Agreement defines the Nations’ self-government powers. It implements the Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35
Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Self-Government Agreement	1997	This Agreement defines the Nations’ self-government powers. It implements the Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35 Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Self-Government Agreement Implementation Plan
Selkirk First Nation Self-Government Agreement	1997	This Agreement defines the Nations’ self-government powers. It implements the Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35 Selfkirk First Nation Self-Government Agreement Implementation Plan
Mi'kmaq Education Agreement	1997	This Agreement provides jurisdiction over primary, elementary and secondary education on reserve and with management responsibilities for the Department’s post-secondary education programs.	Mi'kmaq Education Act, SNS 1998, c 17 Mi’kmaq Education Act (S.C. 1998, c. 24)
Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in First Nation Self-Government Agreement	1998	This Agreement defines the Nations’ self-government powers. It implements the Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35 Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in Final Agreement Implementation Plan

Select Self-Governance Agreements 2000-2022

Agreement	Year	Description	Related Legislation
Nisga'a Final Agreement	2000	A provision within the treaty determines that the Nisg̱a'a Nation has the right to self-government and the authority to make laws.	Nisga’a Final Agreement Act (S.C. 2000, c. 7)
Ta'an Kwäch'än Council Self-Government Agreement	2002	This Agreement defines the Nations’ self-government powers. It implements the Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35
Kluane First Nation Self-Government Agreement	2003	This Agreement defines the Nations’ self-government powers. It implements the Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35 Kluane First Nation Self-Government Agreement Implementation Plan.
Westbank First Nation Self-Government Agreement	2005	This is an example of a stand-alone self-government agreement without a modern treaty. The Agreement covers the Nation’s powers of government and membership, financial and resource management, agriculture, environmental protection, culture and language, education, and health services.	An Act to give effect to the Westbank First Nation Self Government Agreement (S.C. 2004, c. 17) Westbank First Nation Land Registry Regulations (SOR/2007-232)
Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement	2005	This land claim includes self-government guidelines, making the Labradormiut the first Inuit in Canada to achieve self-government.	Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement Act (S.C. 2005, c. 27)
Carcoss/Tagish First Nation Self-Government Agreement	2006	This Agreement defines the Nations’ self-government powers. It implements the Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35
Kwanlin Dün First Nation Self-Government Agreement	2005	This Agreement defines the Nations’ self-government powers. It implements the Yukon First Nations Umbrella Final Agreement.	Yukon First Nations Self Government Act, SC 1994, c 35
Tlicho First Nation Land Claims and Self-Government Agreement	2006	The Tłı̨chǫ Land Claims and Self-Government Agreement was signed by representatives of the Dogrib Treaty 11 Council, the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) and the Government of Canada. The Tłı̨chǫ Agreement is the first combined land claim and self-government agreement in the Northwest Territories.	Tlicho Land Claims and Self-government Agreement Act (S.N.W.T. 2003, c. 28). Tlicho Community Government Act (S.N.W.T 2004, c. 7). Tlicho Land Claims and Self-Government (S.C. 2005, c. 1)
Maa-nulth First Nations Final Agreement	2009	The five Maa-nulth First Nations (Huu-ay-aht First Nations, Ka:'yu:'k't'h'/Che:k'tles7et'h' First Nations, Toquaht Nation, Uchucklesaht Tribe, and Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ) signed this Treaty, part of which recognizes the Nations’ legal authority to govern their own affairs.	Maanulth First Nations Final Agreement Act (S.C. 2009, c. 18)
Tsawwassen First Nation Final Agreement	2009	There is a self-government aspect of this Treaty dealing with the Nation’s ability to make its own laws govern many areas, including governance, natural resources, land management, social programming, health care, education post-secondary education, social assistance, child and family services, and others.	Tsawwassen First Nation Final Agreement Act (S.C. 2008, c. 32)
Sioux Valley Dakota Nation Governance Agreement	2013	This self-governance agreement permits Sioux Valley Dakota Nation laws to apply on its reserve lands.	Sioux Valley Dakota Nation Governance Act (S.C. 2014, c. 1)
Tla'amin Nation Final Agreement	2016	Self-government provisions enable Tla’amin Nation to make its own decisions about matters related to its culture, the exercise of its treaty rights and the operation of its government.	Tla’amin Final Agreement Act (S.C. 2014, c. 11)
Déline Final Self-Government Agreement	2015	This agreement builds on the Sahtu Dene and Metis Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement, where the parties agreed that each Sahtu community could negotiate self-government.	Déline Final Self-Government Agreement Act
Anishinabek Nation Education Agreement	2017	This agreement establishes self-government over specific jurisdictions, recognizing the Nation's jurisdiction over primary and secondary education.	Anishinabek Nation Education Agreement Act (S.C. 2017, c. 32)
Agreement on Cree Nation Governance Between The Crees of Eeyou Istchee and the Government of Canada	2017	This Governance Agreement (alongside the Cree Constitution) set out a comprehensive regime of Cree self‑governance on Cree Category IA lands.	Cree Nation of Eeyou Istchee Governance Agreement Act (S.C. 2018, c. 4, s. 1)
The Anishinabek Nation Governance Agreement	2022	Five Anishinabek First Nations signed the agreement recognizing their law-making powers and authority to self-govern.	Anishinabek Nation Governance Agreement Act (S.C. 2022, c. 9, s. 1)