Skip to Main Content

Traditional Governance

nuučaan̓uuɫɁatḥ nism̓a

nuučaan̓uuɫɁatḥ nism̓a (land).


Theses & Articles

Other resources

Film and Video

"After working as a clearcut logger in what is now known as the Clayoquot Sound, master carver Joe Martin reconciles his past by revitalizing the ancestral knowledge and artistic practice of the traditional Tla-o-qui-aht dugout canoe."

Maa-nulth Treaty

The Maa-nulth Treaty came into effect on April 1st, 2011. Five former Indian Act bands became self-governing through the treaty, which is being implemented by the five independent governments: Huu‑ay‑aht First Nations, Ka:’yu:’k’t’h’/Che:k’tles7et’h’ First Nation, Toquaht Nation, Uchucklesaht Tribe, and Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ Government. Maa-nulth First Nations have overlapping and/or shared territory with their First Nation neighbours: Ditidaht, Hupacasath, Tla-o-qui-aht, and Tseshaht.