It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This toolkit is created by the BCC at UBC Sauder. It guide you to collect information that will allow you to explore your options, find your sense of direction, and prepare for a career you actually want.
BCom students and recent alumni are provided exclusive access to the Sauder Employment Analytics Tool (SEAT), which provides invaluable information about jobs UBC Sauder students have landed up to 6 months after graduation.
Instructor note: PathSource created a free career assessment app for those of you who prefer using your smartphone over a desktop. Once you input personality characterics and interests, PathSource provides you with a list of potential career options, and includes information such as lifestyle and income expectations for each potential role. Additionally, the app offers 2,600 informational interviews, showcasing an insider's view from people in various professions. PathSource also provides a database of careers related to various academic majors. If you're a recent graduate and are unsure which career paths you can pursue with your major, this is a helpful tool.
Best Job Ever! by C. K. BrayAn action-based plan for building the career of your dreams Best Job Ever! is the ultimate guide to creating your dream career and increasing your financial success by providing you with valuable and insightful career information, personal stories and examples of others who have successfully created their Best Job Ever! Written by a nationally recognized expert in career development, this book provides you with a concrete, step-by-step blueprint for revolutionizing your career and revamping your life. You'll find the motivation you need to climb out of your daily ruts as you dig deep to discover your personal motivation, financial needs, and career and life goals. This actionable guide gets you started right away as you explore various avenues for improvement'whether that means re-engaging with the job you have, getting that promotion or making a career change. You'll learn how to overcome career fear, beat job boredom, find and follow your passion while advancing your skill sets and building a career and life plan. The stories will help you decide when to forge ahead with your current career, when to change tracks entirely and how to increase your salary while doing it. If a career change is in the cards, you'll learn how to make the transition with minimal disruption to your finances and emotional well being so you can get quickly get back on track to achieving your dreams. Do you currently love your job? Have you ever loved your job? Whether you're in the wrong career or just lost the passion somewhere along the way, this book gives you a clear action plan with step by step guidance to help you build the career and life you want. Discover the principles of career development Create a job that is meaningful and fulfilling Increase Your Career Income Minimize the financial impact of changing careers/What to do when you get laid off or fired. Build the life and career you want and find happiness while doing it The vast majority of employees feel disconnected from their careers and dread going to work. Life is short! Don't waste your days in unfulfilling career when there are options out there to create the Best Job Ever! and find meaningful, fulfilling and financially rewarding work.
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
The Challenge to Be and Not to Do by Carrie FosterEver wished you could be more than you are now? Perhaps you have wondered whether there was more to life than the hamster wheel that you find yourself on? Maybe, you have been told by a teacher or manager that you won't amount to anything? Does part of you secretly believe that you could do something greater than you are doing now? Then this book is for you. You are not going mad and you are not being big headed to believe that YOU are awesome and YOU do have a unique talent. You have a unique talent, and if you don't know what it is yet, it is time you found out. If you fail to play your strengths, to be the best that you are capable are being, it is not just you that misses out, it is all of us. Essentially, this book will challenge you to seek out your talent, release your full potential and be defined by who you are, not what you do. Are you ready for that?
Publication Date: 2017-10-01
The Compass and the Radar by Paolo GalloPaolo Gallo offers a unique pathway toward identifying the right career, finding the ideal job and developing a moral compass - the solid value system that will then anchor the reader in their professional lives. With a creative and engaging mix of coaching practice, management theories, case studies and personal story-telling, this book helps readers to identify both their own compass - which relates to integrity, passion and internal value systems - and radar - which helps them to understand organizational complexity and 'read' workplace dynamics and situations. The Compass and the Radar is founded on a series of searching questions that will enable anyone to find their compass and radar to achieve personal success:· How can I find out what my real strengths and talents are?· Do I love what I do?· How can I find a job with a company that truly reflects my values?· What is the price I am willing to pay for a meaningful and rewarding career?· How should I define a successful career?Key chapters offer practical tools, as well as insights on the trade-offs and difficult choices that everyone will need to make at some point in their career - all of which will underline the importance of having the most robust moral compass.In the midst of a volatile and uncertain world, one in which technology, AI and digital resources are transforming working environments, The Compass and the Radar allows readers to pause, reflect, and consider who they are, what they stand for, and how to remain free.
Publication Date: 2018-10-18
Ditch the Act: Reveal the Surprising Power of the Real You for Greater Success by Leonard Kim; Ryan FolandBe human. It's the only way to get ahead in business today. Competition today is fiercer than ever. It seems that every job candidate is flashing a world-class resume and every business competitor is the absolute best at what they do. Don't be fooled. People exaggerate. And don't be discouraged. By revealing stories of failures, setbacks, and personal flaws without shame or fear, you exhibit greater self-confidence than your competition. You cultivate connections with serious, smart people, and you build loyalty that lasts. Ditch the Act shows how to present your humanness--imperfect and flawed but honest, resilient, and willing to learn--in strategic ways to achieve clear, defined goals. It provides an actionable program for building an authentic, long-lasting personal brand, explaining why exposure is important and how it cultivates more durable connections than any polished persona can. By creating a personal brand that's honest and authentic and that reveals personal struggles, you'll build stronger, longer-lasting relationships--and achieve greater success. Careers and businesses based on authenticity and truth aren't just more rewarding than those founded on hyperbole and the "hard sell." Because they're founded on durable, robust relationships, they're rock-solid--and better withstand business uncertainty and tough times. Ditch the act, be real--and jump ahead of the competition before they even know you are there.
Publication Date: 2019-10-29
Flying Without a Net by Thomas J. Delong; Thomas J. DeLongNamed one of 100 Leadership & Success Books to Read in a Lifetime by Amazon Editors Confronted by omnipresent threats of job loss and change, even the brightest among us are anxious. In response, we're hunkering down, blocking ourselves from new challenges. This response hurts us and our organizations, but we fear making ourselves even more vulnerable by committing mistakes while learning something new. In Flying Without a Net, Thomas DeLong explains how to draw strength from vulnerability. First, understand the forces that escalate anxiety in high achievers and the unproductive behaviors you turn to for relief. Then adopt practices that give you the courage to "do the right things poorly" before "doing the right things well." Drawing on his extensive research and consulting work, DeLong lays out: - Roots of high achievers' anxiety: fear of being wrong and lack of a sense of purpose, and a craving for human connection - Destructive behaviors we adopt to relieve our anxiety: busyness, comparing ourselves to others, and blaming others for our frustrations - Behaviors we must adopt to gain strength from vulnerability: putting the past behind us and seeking honest feedback Packed with practical advice and inspiring stories, Flying Without a Net is an invaluable resource for all leaders seeking to thrive in this Age of Anxiety.
Publication Date: 2011-06-14
Get the Job You Want, Even When No One's Hiring by Ford R. MyersYou CAN find a good job in a bad economy - but NOT with conventional search strategies.
New Rules for a New Reality Today's job market is the toughest in recent history, and the challenges are here to stay. Even so, you CAN get the job you want - IF you discard conventional approaches to the search. Get the Job You Want, Even When No One's Hiring is the ONLY career book that: Explains the special strategies necessary to land a job during an economic crisis Integrates comprehensive, practical guidance on both job search and career management Provides an extensive online "Job Search Survival Toolkit" to augment the book Addresses the realities of this job market with real-world, actionable steps Positions this downturn in the economy as a positive opportunity to develop a much better career In Get the Job You Want, Even When No One's Hiring, career expert Ford R. Myers maps the new world of job search and reveals essential strategies for your success. You'll learn how to seize opportunities that aren't posted yet ... how to make yourself an instant asset to potential employers ... how to clearly stand-out as the best candidate ... and how to leverage social media, blogs, and other Web tools. Best of all, you'll learn how to "recession-proof" your career for the long term. Can YOU Get the Job You Want, Even When No One's Hiring? With this powerful new book - YES, you can!
Publication Date: 2011-11-21
How to Manage Your Career by Kelly SwinglerIf you are looking to move to the next level of your career then this book is for you. The author has written an easy-to-understand, easy-to-digest book about mindset that includes the neuroscience about why we think and feel the way we do, hints and tips on how to take control of and grow your own career, as well as case studies, hints, tips, and tools to help you manage your career through the power of mindset to help you foster success. Readers will learn what mindset is, and discover how to gain a different perspective into everyday workplace and life occurances and how just some simple yet effective mindset shifts can make the difference between stagnation and growth. The author has been working with mindset for years and her techniques and insights helped catapult her own career and is now running one of the leading HR Consultancies in the UK, with an emphasis on doing things differently. This book is dedicated to all those who want to master their mindset
Publication Date: 2018-03-16
The Introvert's Complete Career Guide by Jane FinkleWhat do Elon Musk, Warren Buffet, Marissa Mayer, and Bill Gates all have in common outside of being wildly successful? They are all introverts. In today's fast-paced, unstable workplace achieving success requires speaking up, promoting oneself and one's ideas, and taking initiative. Extroverts, fearless in tooting their own horns, naturally thrive in this environment, but introverts often stumble. If you question your ability to perform and succeed in this extroverted work culture, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide is custom fit for you. In this supportive, all-inclusive handbook, Jane Finkle demonstrates how to use your introverted qualities to their best advantage, then add a sprinkling of extroverted skills to round out a forceful combination for ultimate career success. Finkle shares the keys to navigating each stage of professional development--from self-assessment and job searching, to survival in a new position and career advancement. In The Introvert's Complete Career Guide you will learn to: Build confidence by evaluating your values, personality style, interests, and achievements Write the story of your career in resume and LinkedIn formats Use social media at your own comfort level to promote your career and expand your network Express yourself clearly and confidently in network meetings, interviews, and workplace situations Build strong professional relationships with colleagues and senior leaders Overcome fears that prevent you from embracing new challenges Equally applicable to the real or virtual workplace, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide provides strategies, tools, and success stories that win you the professional respect and recognition you deserve.
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Life after... Engineering and Built Environment by Sally LongsonThousands of students graduate from university each year. The lucky few have the rest of their lives mapped out in perfect detail - but for most things are not nearly so simple. Armed with your hard-earned degree the possibilities and career paths lying before you are limitless, and the number of choices you suddenly have to make can seem bewildering. Life After...Engineering and Built Environment has been written specifically to help students currently studying, or who have recently graduated, make informed choices about their future. It will be source of invaluable advice and wisdom to graduates on where their degree can take them, covering such topics as: Identifying a career path that interests you - and how to start pursuing it The worldwide opportunities open to engineering graduates Staying motivated and pursuing your goals Networking and self-promotion Making the transition from scholar to worker The Life After University series of books are more than simple 'career guides'. They are unique in taking a holistic approach to career advice - recognising the increasing view that, although a successful working life is vitally important, other factors can be just as essential to happiness and fulfilment. They are the indispensable handbooks for students considering their future direction.
Publication Date: 2006-09-27
Lose the Resume, Land the Job by Gary BurnisonGone are the days of polishing up your resume and sending it out at random. At every level today, you need to "lose the resume" in order to land the right job. In other words, you have to learn to tell a story about yourself that speaks to your competencies, purpose, passion, and values. Lose the Resume, Land the Job shares the new rules of engagement: How you must think, act, and present yourself so you can win. Based on inner exploration drawn from the IP of the world's largest executive recruiting firm, the book gleans insights and stories (the good, the bad, and sometimes the ugly) from Korn Ferry recruiters across the globe who work with thousands of candidates each day. It helps you gain a deeper perspective on who you are, what you're passionate about, the cultures in which you fit, the kind of bosses you should work for, and where you can bring the most value to organizations. * Includes assessments, questionnaires, and other tools. Also includes candid advice for young professionals through middle managers
Publication Date: 2018-02-13
Love Your Job by Kerry E. HannonYes, it is possible to have a job you love, and it doesn't require starting from scratch. Love Your Job is a guide to making work fulfilling and fun -- again, or even for the first time. Why count down the hours of the day or the days to retirement when you could reinvigorate your workday, transforming the daily doldrums into a daily dose of enjoyable activity? Kerry Hannon, The New York Times columnist and AARP's Jobs Expert, focuses on the little things that can make a big difference in how we feel about work. Love Your Job is all about the routines, habits, and thought patterns that, over the years, may have turned a dream job into a drudge or, worse, a nightmare. Changing these habits and attitudes is simple, and this book shows you how to identify the little things that make work enjoyable and engaging. Using these simple techniques, you can adopt the attitude that will keep you happy and that might just lead to bigger and better things, no matter what stage of your career you are in. In this book, you will learn to: Develop new habits that bring more purpose into every single workday Rekindle your hope and motivation by celebrating small successes Recognize negative patterns that keep you from enjoying your job Craft an entrepreneurial attitude that will get you noticed and enrich your work life We all deserve to experience happiness and satisfaction every day, at every stage of our careers. Kerry Hannon explains that you don't have to make a huge career transition to love work again. But if you reinvent the way you see work, who knows where your new outlook will lead? Wake up to the countless possibilities that await you with Love Your Job.
Publication Date: 2015-03-02
They Don't Teach Corporate in College by Alexandra Levit"This book is loaded with solid information designed to demystify the business world." --Anne Fisher, Fortune.
They Don't Teach Corporate in College has resonated with hundreds of thousands of readers and is currently used as a text in corporations and universities across the country. Streamlined and made more accessible for the current generation of twenty-somethings, this new edition is for those that want to make a difference right now but lack some of the core skills to make it happen. Learn how to: Make the smartest career move right out of college. Establish a strong reputation by encouraging others to like and cooperate with you. Navigate your organization's social scene and practice cringe-free networking. Master skills that will take you anywhere, including goal setting and self-promotion. Combat negativity and cope with difficult personalities. Updated with fresh research, anecdotes, and resources, the book still maintains the no-nonsense perspective of a wise older sister who doesn't want you to have to learn the hard way.
Publication Date: 2019-09-01
Your Trajectory Code by Jeffrey MageeGet your entire life on track with an accelerated trajectory Your Trajectory Code is a guide to understanding why you are where you are, and not where you want to be -- and how to change it. Once you understand what the trajectory code is, you can gain an accelerated understanding of yourself and others, including family members, friends, neighbors, colleagues, and anyone else. You'll be able to recognize how tiny 1% adjustments can significantly change your trajectory for the rest of your life. Your inner dialogue guides you along your trajectory, and this book will teach you the five fundamental types of people in your consciousness, and how they can either accelerate your rate of success or derail you straight into a trajectory of misery. We all have the opportunity to make decisions and guide what line or path we follow in life. One trajectory takes you toward greater accomplishments, while the other moves you in the direction of mediocrity and complacency. Understanding the trajectory code and line is what separates winners from losers, and Your Trajectory Code shows you how. Gain a deeper understanding of yourself and others Make tiny adjustments that have a big impact Discover who in your life might hold you back Steer your trajectory toward achievement and success The path of your life is not predetermined. You have control, and it's never to late to make the changes that could bring you greater happiness. Have you settled for "good enough" long enough? Are you ready to rock the boat? Your Trajectory Code is the key to figuring out what needs to change, and how to change it to point your trajectory skyward.