How to access business databases on campus
Walk-in users (Community Borrowers and members of the public) have access to almost all online resources via Library and UBC computers only.
Community users will be able to access the business databases listed on this page. At the David Lam Library, guest log ins can be requested at the front desk to access the computers located in the library. At the Okanagan library, access to guest terminals can be requested at the service desk.
Industry databases
-
ABI/INFORM CollectionABI/INFORM Collection is a comprehensive business database, which contains journals, business periodicals, dissertations, and country-and industry-focused reports.
-
BCC Research
Provides market analysis and forecasting on a wide range of major emerging technological and scientific developments in the industrial, pharmaceutical and high technology sectors worldwide.
-
Business Plans HandbookCollection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America
-
Business Source UltimateProvides access to journal articles, books and videos related to business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Use for finding articles, case studies, and company and industry information.
-
IBISWorld Industry ReportsContains full-text market research reports for Canadian, US and global industries. Reports cover industry structure, trends, competitive landscape and operating conditions.
-
MarketResearch.com AcademicMarket research reports for consumer products, demographics, food, beverage, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and more. Includes reports from various sources, including Freedonia Focus, Packaged Facts and Kalorama.
Consumer databases
-
eMarketerMarket research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
-
SimplyAnalyticsInternet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using Canadian and US demographic, business, and marketing data.
-
Warc : World Advertising Research CenterFull-text articles, reports and case studies on advertising. Includes advertising expenditure data. Can search by brand, advertiser, and agency.
-
Statista
A simple to use statistics portal that integrates statistics from thousands of sources, on topics related to business, media, public policy, health and others.
Company databases
-
Business Market Research CollectionBMRC Includes company, industry and geopolitical macroeconomic research which is useful for business and marketing plans, startup, strategic and financial plans, and market growth analysis.
-
Mergent Market Atlas (formerly Mergent online)US & international public company data, with enhanced features that allow you to compare companies and export data into software applications such as Excel. Annual reports. Analyst reports.
-
Nexis UniOne of the world's premier fulltext news, government, legal, finance and business information services. Research international news, corporate and legal materials.
News and article databases
-
ABI/INFORM CollectionABI/INFORM Collection is a comprehensive business database, which contains journals, business periodicals, dissertations, and country-and industry-focused reports.
-
Business Source UltimateProvides access to journal articles, books and videos related to business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Use for finding articles, case studies, and company and industry information.
-
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)Includes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.
-
Canadian NewsstreamCanadian Newsstream offers the full text of almost 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail, National Post and the Vancouver Sun.
-
Emerald PublishingArticles on major management disciplines including strategy, leadership, marketing and human resource management.
-
FactivaFactiva provides access to a deep archive of news and business information, allowing users to conduct in-depth research on companies, industries, regional affairs.
