Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding and Using Materials in Rare Books and Special Collections

Organization of a fonds / finding aid

For more information on archival fonds and finding aids, see the Archival Materials LibGuide.

Fonds

The word "fonds" is used to describe most archival groupings in Canada and also in many European and Latin American countries. Fonds just means the documents (in any media or format) naturally created or received by a person or an organization in the course of their personal or professional activities. For example, the "Jane Smith fonds" would refer to the records created and received by Jane Smith.

Finding aid or inventory

A finding aid is a document containing detailed information about a specific group of papers or records (fonds / collection). Finding aids are used by researchers to determine whether information within a fonds / collection is relevant to their research. The finding aid is usually compiled by an archivist or librarian during archival processing and should help the researcher understand the contents of the fonds / collection, as well as the context in which they were created.

Organization of a fonds / finding aid

Like the fonds itself, the finding aid is organized from general to specific, starting with a description of the fonds overall and subdividing into descriptions of more specific groups of records within the fonds:

 

Finding materials in the archival database

When you enter a keyword search in our archival database, it searches all levels of descriptions and will pull up not only entries at the fonds and collections level (most general level of description) with that keyword, but series, files, and items (more detailed / granular level of description) with that keyword.

Some finding aids are navigated via hierarchical (most general to most detailed) dropdown lists above the archival description:

 

Within the finding aids, you can do keyword searching by clicking the "Quick search" tab and entering your search term(s):

 

Click "Browse all descriptions" to expand the results.

 

Other inventories / finding aids are available as searchable PDFs.

 

Within the archival database, click on the PDF finding aid, to open in your browser window.

Within the PDF finding aid, you can do keyword searching by pressing Ctrl / Command + F and entering your search term(s). The below screenshot is an example of a fonds that only has a PDF finding aid available:

 

The following is an example of a hybrid finding aid, where a PDF is available in addition to a finding aid built into AtoM (Access to Memory):