Acknowledgements
X̱wi7x̱wa Library would like to thank our fellow Indigenous Critical Literacy in Children’s Books working group members: Emily Fornwald, Stephanie Marston, and Wendy Traas from the UBC Education Library for creating this project and allowing our branch to adapt their work for our branch's needs. We would also like to thank Sajni Lacey from the UBC Okanagan Library and Natalie Trapuzzano for carrying this project forward at the Okanagan campus, and also allowing our branch to adapt their contributions to our needs. Lastly we would like to thank Lindsey Bennett who worked with our branch for this work.
Place Based Learning
Here you will find resources on locating the territory on which you live/occupy, place based learning, and how geographic location impacts relevant and meaningful learning.
X̱wi7x̱wa is often asked how people can ensure their work is meaningfully grounded and specific to the places and territories where the learning/teaching is taking place. It is important for instructions to adapt their lessons to their "local situation" so it is relevant (see page 8 of Aboriginal Education Enhancements Branch for more).
- Native-Land.caThis is a starting place to learning about whose territory you are on. Begin by entering your location. From there you are linked to community specific sites; to learn about definitive boundaries, contact the nations in question.
- Siwal Si'wes Library: Place-Based LearningFind videos and resources for place based learning.
- Place Based Learning ExamplesFind real examples of place based learning from multiple subject areas and geographic locations for various grades.
- Place-Based Learning and Knowing: Critical Pedagogies Grounded in Indigeneity by
This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2012This paper seeks to discuss how through reading the places in the world as 'political texts,' one may engage in reflection and praxis in order to understand, and where necessary, to change the world. - Utilising place-based learning through local contexts to develop agents of change in Early Childhood Education for Sustainability by
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2018The aim of this research was to consider how young children could develop an education for sustainable mind-set, through place-based learning within a local context.
Getting Started
Critical literacy requires us to go beyond what we read on the page and to consider the larger narrative in which a text is situated, asking questions about who created a text and why. Critical Indigenous literacy asks us to think about authorship and identity in relation to the stories and teachings we trust as readers. It also asks readers to think critically about Indigenous representations (or lack thereof) within a text.
This page is intended for researchers, teachers, parents, and guardians learning about critical Indigenous literacy for children's resources.
This video was created by student librarian Xaanja Free for their LIBR 520 class. For additional resources on Indian in the Cupboard check out Debbie Reese's blog here. Free has also created a handout to accompany the video:
- Rethinking the Canon HandoutThis document accompanies the video above. We thank Xaanja Free for sharing her amazing work with us and others interested in this topic!
Critical Indigenous Literacy
Here you will find information on critical Indigenous literacy and a tool for reviewing potential bias in a resource. You will also find a resource on how to locate the traditional territory that you live on and/or are occupying.
- Critical Literacy and Selecting Indigenous LiteratureUBC Education Library's blog post on what critical literacy is and how to find authentic Indigenous resources in their branch.
- Evaluating Bias InstrumentA resource developed by the Government of Nova Scotia that provides educators a checklist which can be used to systematically review resources for potential bias.
- Xwi7xwa Library: Locating Ourselves
This link opens in a new window
This document sets out to assist researchers in learning how to locate the traditional territory they are on. - Xwi7xwa Library: Critical Indigenous Literacy for Children’s Picture BooksThis document has been adapted from the work from Education Library. Learn about Xwi7xwa Library kits.
- What is positionality?Definition and further reading from gender and sexuality dictionary.
- Social Identity WheelThe Social Identity Wheel worksheet is an activity that encourages students to identify social identities and reflect on the various ways those identities become visible or more keenly felt at different times, and how those identities impact the ways others perceive or treat them.
#OwnVoices
Here you will find information about the relationship between authorship/storyteller, identity, and how to find Indigenous authored resources. Corinne Duyvis created the hashtag #OwnVoices “to recommend kidlit about diverse characters written by authors from the same diverse group”.
We understand that #OwnVoices has become a less favourable term as it has created unsafe spaces for some authors & creators to discuss their relationship to their work. Our goal is to prioritize resources that are authored by people who belong to the communities and experiences they are writing about; within this context we utilize #OwnVoices because it is the most accurate, meaningful, and respectful representation of an author's relationship to a community.
- Annotated Bibliography about #OwnVoices DialogueDesigned by UBC Education Library, completed by Tiffany Tse. This article summarizes various conversations that exist about the merit and problems of the term.
- #OwnVoicesFAQ about #ownvoices from author Corrine Duyvis.
- Authentic First Peoples Resources for Use in K-9 ClassroomsThe annotated listings provided in Authentic First Peoples Resources, K-Gr.9 identify currently available authentic First Peoples texts that students can work with to meet provincial standards related to literacy as well as a variety of specific subject areas.
- Finding Indigenous PerspectivesXwi7xwa Library's tab on finding Indigenous authors within our collection.
- Focused Education ResourcesResources on the provided link are filtered by Indigenous topics, approved resources are marked with turtle icon.
- Indigenous Publishers & DistributorsThis research guide offers an overview of Indigenous publishers, distributors, and news media, and also introduces alternative modes of publishing, such as zines and podcasts. The guide also provides links to bookstores in the Vancouver area with strong Indigenous collections.
- Learning First Peoples Classroom ResourcesThe First Nations Education Steering Committee and the First Nations Schools Association, in collaboration with teachers and partners, have developed the following Learning First Peoples series of teacher resources to support English Language Arts, Science Social Studies and Mathematics courses.
- www.strongnations.comStrong Nations is an online retailer and a publishing house that specializes in Indigenous literature and art. Indigenous authored/illustrated resources on this site are flagged with a cedar branch logo and "Indigenous Text" label.
- The Truth About Stories: a Native Narrative by
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2003 & 2011Stories assert tremendous control over our lives, informing who we are and how we treat one another as friends, family and citizens. With keen perception and wit, King illustrates that stories are the key to, and the only hope for, human understanding, He compels us to listen well. - Imaginary Indian by
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1992 & 2011"The Imaginary Indian" is a fascinating, revealing history of the "Indian" image mythologized by popular Canadian culture since 1850, propagating stereotypes that exist to this day. This is not a book about Native people; it is the story of the images projected upon Native people and the desperate uses to which they are put.
Worldviews & Protocols
- Indigenous Peoples Worldviews (IPW)Siwal Si’wes Library's resource page for IPW. Find foundational resources in beginning to understand Indigenous worldviews, history, and culture as they relate to the classroom.
- Territorial Acknowledgement & Inviting Guest ExamplePDF about acknowledging Aboriginal territories and protocols for inviting an Elder or guest to your classroom; provided by Laura Tait, Aboriginal Education.
- Valuing Native American Tribal Elders and Stories for Sustainability Study by
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2016This article outlines a framework the authors have used to infuse sustainability study into humanities teaching at the middle school level. Native American tribal elders can act as co-teachers in such classrooms, and the place-based stories that shaped their views of the environment can serve as important classroom texts to investigate sustainable philosophies.
- Elder Protocol & GuidelinesThe Council of Aboriginal Initiatives from the University of Alberta has worked with Elders to create this handbook.
- Stepping Stones: Elder ProtocolThe Alberta Teacher's Associated has created this document to answer: What is the protocol to follow when inviting an Elder, knowledge keeper or cultural advisor to participate in your meetings or events? Click and find out!
- Deepening Knowledge: Resources for and about Aboriginal EducationDr. Nicole Bell from the University of Toronto has created this document to explain who an Elder is, what their role is, how to approach an Elder for guidance, and more.
- Guidelines for Working with First Nation, Métis and Inuit Elders and Knowledge KeepersThe purpose of this document is to provide guidelines for working with Elders and knowledge keepers. This information is from the Carleton University.
Critical Indigenous Literacy Kits
In the boxes above you will have learned about: the traditional territory you live on and why this is relevant to you, critical literacy, critical Indigenous literacy, how you can invite an Elder or guest to your classroom, and place-based learning; now it's time to bring this together!
Here you will find X̱wi7x̱wa's Critical Literacy Kits to support young learners and those teaching them. The kits include suggested resources, further reading for instructors, and guiding questions for your classroom. If you have an idea for a kit that is not covered below you can adapt this document to your classroom or home on any given topic. For a list of children's books at X̱wi7x̱wa click here.
Xwi7xwa Library kits:
Critical Indigenous Literacy at UBC Okanagan Library:
To learn about the Critical Literacy Kit work from Education Library, Okanagan Library, & X̱wi7x̱wa Library please see:
Emily Fornwald, Karleen Delaurier-Lyle, Sajni Lacey, Wendy Traas, Stephanie Marston & Rio Picollo (2021) Repurposing Problematic Books into Critical Literacy Kits, Collection Management, DOI: 10.1080/01462679.2021.1905576
Critical Literacy Kits at the Education Library
The Education Library has five Critical Literacy Kits available, each with a unique theme. The themes and books in each kit can be explored through the activities suggested below.
Critical Literacy Kit: Cultural Appropriation
The books and learning materials in this Critical Literacy Kit can be used to support discussion about the appropriation of Indigenous cultures in children’s literature and education resources, as well as the impacts of cultural appropriation.
Kit includes the following books:
- They Put on Masks by Byrd Baylor
- Ten Little Rabbits by Virginia Grossman
- Alvin Ho: Allergic to Birthday Parties, Science Projects, and Other Man-Made Catastrophes by Lenore Look
- Curious George Learns the Alphabet by H.A. Rey
- Thanksgiving Day by Anne Rockwell
- Mouse Days by Leo Lionni
- Amazing Grace by Mary Hoffman
- George and Martha Encore by James Marshall
- Plurals by Joan Hanson
- Native Americans by Mike Stotter
- The Native Peoples by Robert Livesey & A.G. Smith
- You Ought to See Herbert’s House by Doris Herold Lund
- Sounds of a Powwow by Bill Martin Jr. with Peggy Brogan and John Archambault
Additional Resources:
Critical Literacy Kit: Traditional Stories & Storytelling
The books and learning materials in this Critical Literacy Kit can be used to explore the topic of Indigenous stories and storytelling, and the impact of non-Indigenous authors creating, changing, or sharing Indigenous stories without permission from, or collaboration with, the appropriate Indigenous communities.
Kit includes the following books:
- Arrow to the Sun: A Pueblo Indian Tale by Gerald McDermott
- Buffalo Woman by Paul Goble
- Her Seven Brothers by Paul Goble
- Doctor Coyote by John Bierhorst
- Dogrib Legends, Book 6: Tsequa and the Chief's Son by Virginia Football
- Dragonfly's Tale by Kristina Rodanas
- Once Upon a Totem by Christie Harris
- Raven's Light: A Myth from the People of the Northwest Coast by Susan Hand Shetterly
- Sootface: An Ojibwa Cinderella Story by Robert D. San Souci
- The Rough-Face Girl by Rafe Martin
- The Turkey Girl: A Zuni Cinderella Story by Penny Pollock
- Tikkatoo's Journey: An Inuit Folk Tale by Amanda Loverseed
- Told-Again Tales from Many Lands: Indian Tales by Grace E. Potter
- Frog Girl by Paul Owen Lewis
- Storm Boy by Paul Owen Lewis
- The Legend of the Indian Paintbrush by Tomie dePaola
Additional Resources:
Critical Literacy Kit: Troubling Tropes
The books and learning materials in this Critical Literacy Kit can be used to learn about and discuss common harmful literary tropes, including the “Noble Savage” or “Ecological Indian,” the “Indian Princess,” and the “Vanishing Indian,” in fiction and non-fiction for children and young adults.
Kit includes the following books:
- Little Owl Indian by Hetty Burlingame Beatty
- The Forest Has Eyes by Bev Doolittle
- Moonstick: The Seasons of the Sioux by Eve Bunting
- Brother Eagle, Sister Sky by Susan Jeffers
- Encounter by Jane Yolen
- Houses of Bark by Bonnie Shemie
- Mounds of Earth and Shell by Bonnie Shemie
- Houses of Wood by Bonnie Shemie
- My Name is Pocahontas by William Accorsi
- The Frog Princess: A Tlingit Legend from Alaska by Eric A. Kimmel
- The Double Life of Pocahontas by Jean Fritz
- The Time of the Indian by Kenneth Ulyatt
- Indians of the Eastern Woodlands by Rae Bains
- Before the Indian by Julian May
Additional Resources:
Critical Literacy Kit: Exploration, "Contact," and Colonization
The books and learning materials in this Critical Literacy Kit can be used to discuss depictions of “exploration” or “First Contact” and colonization in children’s fiction and non-fiction.
Kit includes the following books:
- Corn is Maize: The Gift of the Indians by Aliki
- Explore with Leif Eriksson by Natalie Hyde
- Hooray for Columbus by Jerry Aten
- Discovery of America by Jessica Claridge
- Daniel Boone and the Wilderness Road by Catherine E. Chambers
- Wagons West: Off to Oregon by Catherine E. Chambers
- Cheyenne Again by Eve Bunting
- The Ledgerbook of Thomas Blue Eagle by Jewel H. Grutman
- Lewis and Clark by Andrew Santella
- Lewis and Clark: Opening the American West by Ellen Rodger
- Lewis and Clark: Explorers of the American West by Steven Kroll
- Encounter by Jane Yolen
- Sacagawea: The Making of a Legend by Rick Book
Additional Resources:
Critical Literacy Kit: Reconsidering the Canon
This kit includes literary award winners and other children's and young adult fiction widely considered to be "classics." Many of the books in this kit should be read with a critical eye due to their depictions of Indigenous peoples; however, some of the books are included due to their depictions of other members of IBPOC communities.
Kit includes the following books:
- Paddle-to-the-Sea by Holling Clancy Holling
- The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks
- Little Black Sambo by Helen Bannerman
- Five Chinese Brothers by Claire Huchet Bishop
- Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder
- If I Ran the Zoo by Dr. Seuss
- Tintin in the Congo by Hergé
- Tintin in America by Hergé
- The Sign of the Beaver by Elizabeth George Speare
- Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech
- Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell
- Caddie Woodlawn by Trina Schart Hyman