Publishers and Distributors Catalogues
- Good Minds(Six Nations of the Grand River Territory, Ontario). Educational resources evaluated for cultural perspective. Resources classified by educational level.
- Strong Nations(Snuneynuxw, BC). Educational resources and children's literature.
Xwi7xwa Library Guide
Indigenous Children's Literature Bibliographies
The texts featured in these bibliographies are by Native American, First Nations, Métis, and Inuit writers and illustrators located in what we now call North America.
- Indigenous Peoples in North America(Groundwood Books/House of Anansi Press, 2019)
This list includes 36 books for children and young adults, "celebrating Indigenous Peoples in North America". Please note that this list features both Indigenous and non-Indigenous authors, and only includes books published by Groundwood Books/House of Anansi Press. - Canadian Indigenous Books for Schools(ABPBC, 2007 - 2018)
Since 2007, the Association of Book Publishers of British Columbia has published an annual catalogue highlighting Canadian Indigenous children's books. Scroll down past the "BC Books For BC Schools" resources to find the Indigenous catalogues. - #IndigenousReads by Indigenous Writers: A Children’s Reading List(The Conscious Kid Library, 2017)
This list, created by The Conscious Kid Library, American Indian's in Children's Literature, and Brooklyn Children's Museum, focuses on picture books and board books for younger readers. - American Indians in Children's Literature blog(Dr Debbie Reese, 2017)
This resource highlights top ten titles by age group – Elementary, Middle School, and High School – as well as selected best books from each year. - Native American Children's and Young Adult Books(Cynthia Leitich Smith, 2017)
These resources, curated by YA author Cynthia Letitch Smith, offer a range of bibliographies for readers and educators alike, including lists addressing historical content and contemporary content, lists focused on texts for educators, and lists which highlight Indigenous creators. - Hear our stories: Celebrating First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Literature(Canadian Children's Book Centre, 2015)
This list showcases Indigenous children's literature published in Canada, alongside several interviews with writers like Michael Kusugak and David Alexander Robertson. Despite featuring a few non-Indigenous creators, this is still a useful resource. - Native American Children's Literature in the Classroom: an Annotated Bibliography(Humboldt State University Library, 2009)
This resource offers two bibliographies: the first of critical work on Indigenous Children's Literature, and the second on the Californian Native American experience. - A Critical Bibliography on North American Indians, for K-12(Anthropology Outreach Office of the Smithsonian Institution, 2001)
While this resource is older than many on the list, it goes into a great deal of depth in both offering evaluation techniques and in curating bibliographies divided by regions rather than arbitrary borders.
#NativeReads: Native American Heritage Month 2016
#NativeReads: New Guide for Native American Heritage Month 2016
The First Nations Development Institute partnered with Dr. Debbie Reese (Nambé Pueblo) to assemble the Native American Children's Literature Recommended Reading List and an accompanying discussion guide for each book on the list. The five books are essential reading for young ones in Head Start and preschool, to elementary and middle schoolers. For high school students there is a Native comic book. The reading list is full of wonderful, culturally authentic stories and cover art.
Recommended DVDs @ Education Library
Elementary and Secondary Level DVDs recommended by the UBC Education Library