Skip to main content

Indigenous Children's Literature

Reconciling Difficult Colonial Truths : Literature for Children and Youth

Reconciling Difficult Colonial Truths: Literature for Children and Youth

This panel, from School Library Day 2016, addresses ways in which literature for young people can address and respond to shared colonial legacies. Panelists Gordon Powell (Mi'kmaq), Julie Flett (Cree-Métis), Maggie De Vries, and Arushi Raina speak to reconciling difficult colonial truths through children's literature, to how children’s literature can "be decolonized and made appropriate for 21st century learners", and to the roles that "writers, illustrators, teachers, teacher-librarians and children’s librarians play in the process".
 

Featured Articles

Summon

Enter general keywords.

TIP: Limit your results to journal articles by selecting Content Type: Journal Article (under "Refine Your Search" on the left-hand side of the screen). You can also filter by publication date, academic discipline, and language; limit your result to peer reviewed publications; and exclude certain formats (e.g. newspapers) from your results.

TIP: Use quotation marks to search for a phrase (e.g. "First Nations"). Use an asterisk to truncate a term to search for words with the same stem (e.g. Curric* retrieves Curriculum, Curricula, Curricular, etc.).

Why Databases?

Searching within databases can be more time consuming than using Summon, but there are advantages to this research strategy: 

  • Databases are usually limited by academic discipline, which means you'll retrieve fewer results but they may be more relevant.
  • Databases are highly structured, which means you can perform complex searches using controlled vocabulary.

The following databases are useful for finding articles related to this topic. For a more comprehensive list, see the Articles page of our First Nations and Indigenous Studies research guide. 

TIP: Searching databases with the keywords recommended in this research guide is a good starting strategy. However, be aware that some databases may use different terminology. When you find a relevant article, check the subject headings and article description for terminology that could be useful in a new keyword search.

Selected Databases