Skip to main content

Malcolm Lowry

A guide to accessing UBC Library's extensive primary sources on the author Malcolm Lowry, as well as accessing background information and criticism through the Library Catalogue and journals).

Finding Materials

Materials in RBSC are most frequently arranged according to their subject matter, source, and document type and size; maps, books, A/V materials, framed artwork and archives are usually all kept in different locations. This means that collections are sometimes split up or rearranged. Collections that were acquired by RBSC at different times when standards varied may or may not be catalogued in such a way that is easy to "collocate" collections. There are a few strategies that can be used in order to get an idea of the entirety of many of our collections.

Searching in the UBC Library Catalogue

Lowry's Personal Collection

Part of this collection contains Malcolm Lowry's personal collection. These works can be found in the UBC Library catalogue by searching for "Lowry's Personal Library Collection"

Subject Headings

Lowry, Malcolm, 1909-1957 

Lowry, Malcolm, 1909-1957--Criticism and interpretation

Lowry, Malcolm, 1909-1957--Bibliography

Lowry, Malcolm, 1909-1957--Correspondence

Author search, series search, and other strategies

AtoM

Search for RBSC's archival holdings in Access to Memory (AtoM). This web applications does not often have digitized materials (there are a few exceptions) but rather features written descriptions of our archival materials. To find digitized materials try searching our Open Collections (above). After reviewing descriptions, you may wish to view the archives themselves. Take note of the "Reference Number" to help us find it for you ( an example is outlined in red below).

AtoM Search diagram

Searching for materials

AtoM Search diagram

Using the left pane to navigate a description

AtoM Search diagram