It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The study of children's illustrated books is located within the broad histories of print culture, publishing, the book trade, and concepts of childhood. An interdisciplinary history, Picturing Canada provides a critical understanding of the changing geographical, historical, and cultural aspects of Canadian identity, as seen through the lens of children's publishing over two centuries.
Children's Literature charts the makings of the Western literary imagination from Aesop's fables to Mother Goose, from Alice's Adventures in Wonderland to Peter Pan, from Where the Wild Things Are to Harry Potter. The only single-volume work to capture the rich and diverse history of children's literature in its full panorama, this extraordinary book reveals why J. R. R. Tolkien, Dr. Seuss, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Beatrix Potter, and many others, despite their divergent styles and subject matter, have all resonated with generations of readers.
The rich and varied landscape of Canadian children's literature has been largely unexplored by American readers, but Elizabeth Waterston's engaging survey provides them with an invitation to discover the full range of Canadian writing for children - from colonial folktales and historical novels to fantasy literature and contemporary science fiction. Waterston's informative study brings to life Canadian history and culture and illuminates a unique literary community in which acclaimed adult writers like Margaret Atwood, Margaret Laurence, and Mordechai Richler are also the authors of children's books.
The Norton Anthology of Children's Literature brings together the work of 170 writers and illustrators, tracing the historical development of genres and traditions over 350 years of children's literature in English. Drawing on new scholarship exploring the social and cultural contexts of children's literature, this flexible core anthology provides a teachable collection for a wide range of courses--the historical survey and period courses; theme- or topic-based courses; and interdisciplinary courses.
Of all types of literature, children's literature is perhaps the best loved, most varied, and most subtly influential. This beautifully illustrated volume traces the history of children's literature in Britain, the USA, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, from the earliest printed books to the present day. It takes `children's literature' to mean books designed for children, as well as books of childhood, and so embraces everything from religious tracts to multi-media comics, from the `classic' to the unashamedly popular.
Browse theses and dissertations written by UBC students in UBC's online repository, cIRcle.
UBC Open Collections
UBC Open Collections includes digital photos, books, newspapers, maps, videos, theses, and more. These publicly-accessible collections are constantly growing and reflect the research interests of the UBC community and beyond.
The Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature in the Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries contains more than 130,000 books and periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain from the mid-1600s to present day.
The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world. Ultimately, the Foundation aspires to have every culture and language represented so that every child can know and appreciate the riches of children's literature from the world community.
The Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) is a national, not-for-profit organization founded in 1976. They are dedicated to encouraging, promoting and supporting the reading, writing, illustrating and publishing of Canadian books for young readers. Their programs, publications, and resources help teachers, librarians, booksellers and parents select the very best for young readers.
The International Research Society for Children's Literature is an international scholarly organization established to support and promote research in the field of children's literature. It includes members from over forty countries worldwide.
The ABPBC supports the aspirations and activities of its membership through cultural, economic, and political initiatives and engages book-related communities in British Columbia, Canada, and beyond. The Association aims to encourage in particular the writing, publishing, distribution and promotion of books written by British Columbian and Canadian authors.