ANTH 302 Ethnography of South Asia

While the default library search engine, Summon, will allow you to find a great deal of articles, UBC subscribes to a number of specific databases that can help you focus your search. You can choose to look for articles written by discipline (i.e. anthropologists, sociologists, etc.) or by geographic region (e.g. South Asia)

Anthropology and Sociology

• Anthropology Plus - the main index for Anthropology. Start here!

• AnthroSource - full-text collection of ejournals from the American Anthropological Association

• Sociological Abstracts - the main database for sociology.

• eHRAF World Cultures - Full text collection of ethnographic books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world.

• Annual Review of Anthropology - Comprehensive critical reviews on topics in Anthropology.

South Asia

• Bibliography of Asian Studies - Indexes journal articles on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia from 1971 to the present.
• Digital South Asia Library -  digital materials for reference and research on South Asia 
• India, Raj and Empire - primary source documents on the history of South Asian between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.

Political Science

• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

  Find literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy. About 1500 journal titles from around the world are monitored for coverage.
• PAIS International and PAIS Archive

  PAIS is an index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
• CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online

  Working papers, occasional papers series from NGOs, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs related to international affairs.

Gender and Sexuality Studies

• LGBT Life with Full Text - The premier resource to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.

• Studies on Women & Gender Abstracts  - An international abstracting service which focusses on education, employment, women in the family and community, medicine/health, role socialisation, social policy, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies. Both theoretical and empirical materials are abstracted.

• Women's Studies International  - Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.