New Books at UBC Library
e-Book Collections
- ArchaeopressAcademic works on all aspects of world archaeology, including monographs, conference proceedings, catalogues and reports.
- Bloomsbury eBooksBloomsbury Classical Studies collection includes close to 900 e-books on ancient history, mythology, drama, archaeology etc.
- Brill eBooksBrill's collection of e-books covers a wide range of topics in the humanities, including more than 2,000 in Classical Studies.
- Cambridge companionsCollection of over 600 titles covering literature, classics, music, philosophy, religion, history and culture.
- Cambridge histories online380 titles including the multi-volume Cambridge Ancient History.
- Oxford handbooks onlineIncludes over 1,400 articles drawn from thirty-six separate Classical Studies titles.
Search Tips
Try browsing the stacks or the catalogue. A good place to start is learning about the Library of Congress classification schedule. Just keep in mind that not all relevant titles will be in one location (i.e. Koerner Library) or in one distinct call number range. Our Library Skills Tutorial might also be of help.
Call numbers most relevant to the Ancient Mediterranean and Near East are:
- PA - Classical Philology and Literature
- DE - History of the Greco-Roman World
- DF - History of Greece
- DG - History of Italy
- B - Philosophy
Book Reviews
- Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR)Authoritative archive of BMCR’s publications, from 1990 to the present, with timely open-access reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies, including archaeology.
- Review of Biblical Literature (RBL)Collection of 10,000+ book reviews that RBL has published since its initial launch in 1998.
- Aestimatio: Sources and Studies in the History of SciencePublished by the Institute for Research in Classical Philosophy and Science, Aestimatio focuses on the history of science from antiquity to the early modern period.