Skip to Main Content
Business/Economics
- Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
The Federal Reserve is the central bank of the United States. The website of the Board of Governors provides access to the economic research and data from the Federal Reserve System, including its statistical releases, historical data, and surveys. Topics include economic indicators, bank assets and liabilities, business and household finance, interest rates, money stock and reserve balances.
- U.S. Department of the Treasury - Interest Rate Statistics
Provides statistics dating back to 2004 in most cases for Daily Treasury Real Yield Curve Rates; Daily Treasury Bill Rates; Daily Treasury Long-Term Rates and Extrapolation Factors; and Daily Treasury Real Long-Term Rate Averages.
- Economic Census
From the US Census Bureau, this site provides data from the 2002 and 2007 US Economic Censuses. Browse reports by sector, state or series. Series include geographic area, industry, and subjects. Also provides comparative statistics, zip code statistics and survey of business owners.
- U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Prepares and provides access to national, regional, industry, and international accounts. These cover economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the position of the United States in the world economy. Data available include Gross Domestic Product, Gross Product and input-output data, Balance of payments, National Income and Product Accounts, Gross State product and other state data. Also provides access to its publications, including the Survey of Current Business starting in 1921.
- Economic Indicators - Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
The ESA releases 12 monthly and quarterly Principal Federal Economic Indicators collected by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). Indicators include retail sales, construction spending, gross domestic product, new home sales, personal income and psending, wholesale trade, and others.
- Economic Indicators - FDsys (Federal Digital System)
A monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics. The website provides access to editions dating back to 1995.
- Unofficial versions of this publication are available back to 1948 from FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research).
- Economic Indicators Handbook. HC103.E26 2002
Provides the "big picture" of the U.S. economy with aggregate national statistics covering the Consumer Price Index, Gross National Product, Rate of Inflation and nearly 175 other U.S. economic facts.
- Economic Report of the President
An annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices, by pulling together key data from a variety of federal agencies.
- EDGAR
Reports and filings submitted by US publicly traded companies to the US Securities and Exchange Commission. Types of reports include press releases, quarterly (10Q) and annual (10K) reports, insider trading reports, etc. 10K reports give very detailed information about a company's products, businesses, competitors, markets, etc.
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR.
- FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
A database of over 3,000 U.S. economic time series, including price indexes, interest rates, exchange rates, monetary indicators and more. With FRED®, you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.
- Country Business Patterns
An annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
- State Profiles: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State. HA203.S734
There are eight-page chapters on each state, highlighting population, labour force, income, economic structure, housing, agriculture, education, health, and government finance. Coverage varies; the latest date in the 2006 edition is 2004. There are also 25 tables ranking states by various measures.