Finding Articles
To find peer-reviewed articles in the engineering literature the best places to search are:
UBC Library also provides access to many databases and indexes, which work as specialized search engines. These various resources are outlined on the following Library Research Guides for sub-disciplines of engineering:
- Civil Engineering
- Electrical & Computer Engineering
- Environmental Engineering
- Mechanical Engineering
- Transportation Engineering
- Engineering Standards
How to locate articles online and in print:
- For most journal articles, you will be able to click on the 'UBC eLInk' in order to access the PDF online.
- If you are trying to find an article or book based on a reference to it, try searching for the article or book by title in Summon.
- If you cannot locate the PDF, the Library may have the article in print on the shelves, either in Kelowna or Vancouver. You can order articles that are in print in Vancouver through the Library's Document Delivery service. *Note: There is no charge for deliveries between Vancouver and Kelowna for UBC students.
- If UBC Library does not have a copy of the journal article, book chapter, or conference proceeding, you can order a copy through the Library's InterLibrary Loan service.
Search Compendex Engineering Village
Compendex Engineering Village is a database that contains over 30 million records of published material in the field of engineering including journal articles, conferences proceedings, technical standards and more. It is the top database that we recommend for conducting engineering research.
- Compendex Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowPremier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.
- Citation Management Guide, UBC LibraryUsing software to manage citations can help you keep track of sources and cite accurately. This guide is referred to at the end of the video.
- Library Browser ExtensionAdd the library browser extension to ensure free access to databases, journal articles and ebooks. This tool is referred to at the start of the video.
Compendex search results screen
Image description: Screenshot of the Compendex search results screen which displays the search box at the top. Highlighted is the use of Boolean operators, and the ability to add a search field to expand the search box. Limiting by date and document type are circled just below the search box. The UBC eLinks is highlighted as the way to connect to full text.
Compendex controlled vocabulary menu
Image description: Screenshot of the Compendex database highlighting the controlled vocabulary filter. Clicking view more allows you to see all of the subtopics contained within your results list.
Article record in Compendex
Image description: Screenshot of the Compendex database record display, highlighting the UBC eLink, the journal and article title, additional citation info, as well as controlled vocabulary and additional keywords.