This guide lists selected resources available for students and faculty at UBC in Environmental Engineering. Please contact a librarian (Ursula Ellis, UBC Vancouver; Barbara Sobol, UBC Okanagan) if you need more assistance.
If you have a specific article you're searching for, Summon is a good place to start. Summon lets you simultaneously search the Library's book collection and many full text journal articles. See the sidebar for a custom version of Summon which is focused on engineering. If you're searching for articles on a topic, you'll probably want to search a database which is more focused on engineering than Summon. Here are some starting points for finding engineering journal articles or conference proceedings. Look for the icons to check for full text articles. Compendex: the gold standard engineering database. Well-rounded coverage of all engineering disciplines. Web of Science: multidisciplinary database which includes sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Less depth of engineering coverage than Compendex. Allows you to search for for articles which cite an article (and these will generally vary from what you find in Google Scholar). Google Scholar: from off-campus, use this link to Google Scholar to activate UBC eLinks to full text. You may also want to search the following databases: ASCE Research Library: most of the articles here can be found in Compendex, but going directly to the ASCE Digital Library lets you browse ASCE journals and conference proceedings. GeoRef and GeoBase: geology databases which can be searched at the same time as Compendex. GeoRef is also searchable through GeoScienceWorld, which includes the ability to search using Google Maps. SciFinder Scholar: the most prominent chemistry database; includes the ability to search by a chemical structure you've drawn. You need to create an individual login using a ubc.ca email address the first time you access SciFinder. Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management and GreenFILE cover a range of environmental science topics. Please note that not all of the articles you find in these databases will be available full text. You can check in Summon or the UBC Library Catalogue - or ask a librarian - to see if older articles are available in print at the Library. If UBC does not have an article, you can usually request it through Interlibrary Loan at no charge.
Search Summon or the UBC Library Catalogue to find books. You may also want to search individual science and engineering ebook collections listed below. Use Document Delivery to have a book sent from UBC-O to UBC-V or vice versa: This service usually takes 2-4 business days. Please note that many older books at UBC Vancouver are located in the ASRS (Automated Storage and Retrieval System) in IK Barber Learning Centre. You can order these using the "Request this item: Recall/ASRS" option above.
eBook collections ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online CRC Handbooks in Civil Engineering; Chemical and Biological Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; Electrical and Computer Engineering; Metals and Materials Engineering. ENVIROnetBASE: Environmental Sciences Electronic Library Handbooks on the environmental sciences including engineering. MATERIALSnetBASE Includes handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias that explain the theory, data, and processes shaping diverse materials applications. Covers from ceramics and textiles, to bioscience and pharmacology. SpringerLink Full-text online access to books and journals published by Springer. Knovel Basic Academic Online handbooks in science and engineering, particularly good for chemistry and related disciplines ASM Handbooks Online Provides online access to the complete ASM Handbook series including the multi-volume ASM Engineering Materials Handbook and ASM Metals Handbook. Wiley Online Library Includes several books on renewable and sustainable energy. More UBC Library eBooks
Building Codes British Columbia Building Code 2006. We have full text online access to the BC Building Code. National Building Code of Canada 2010. Available in print at 4th floor IK Barber in Vancouver, and at UBC Okanagan Library. Vancouver Building Code. Also known as Vancouver Building By-law (VBBL). Available in print at the Reference Desk, 3rd floor IK Barber. International Building Code. Available in print at 4th floor IK Barber in Vancouver. Bridge and Road Design Codes Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code is available full text in the CSA Standards database, and in print (2006 edition) at the 3rd floor Reference Desk in IK Barber. Bridge Standards and Procedures Manual from the BC Ministry of Transportation is available online. BC Supplement to Transportation Association of Canada Geometric Design Guide is available online. Master Municipal Construction Documents are available in print on reserve at the Circulation Desk, 2nd floor of IK Barber. The City of Vancouver also uses a supplementary document, the Street Restoration Manual; the PDF for this and more details are available on the City's Engineering Services website. Standard Specifications for Highway Construction from the BC Ministry of Transportation is available online.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text Good source for U.S. and Canadian theses. International searchable index of dissertations and theses. The full text of dissertations and theses added to the database since 1997 are available to UBC users. Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. To make it easier to search across institutional repositories, NDLTD has initiated a project to harvest metadata from university electronic theses and dissertations. Electronic theses and dissertations are harvested monthly from Canadian universities. cIRcle: UBC's Digital Repository UBC theses and dissertations from 1973 to the present are available in full text in cIRcle: UBC's Digital Repository. A project is underway to digitize older UBC theses. Currently, theses and dissertations from 1919 to 1930, are available in this collection. All theses and dissertations completed at UBC's Okanagan campus are available in cIRcle (2005-present). OAIster OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources. OAIster is useful for searching multiple online archives for theses and dissertations simultaneously. How To Find UBC Theses & Dissertations A research guide for locating theses and dissertations from UBC, British Columbia, Canada, and International databases and repositories.
How to Cite Sources - UBC Library RefWorks and RefShare - Citation Management Software RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references and links from online databases and catalogues. Copyright at UBC Evaluating Print Sources - UBC Library Evaluating Internet Sources - UBC Library