Print Collections
On the second floor of Koerner library there are several maps on First Nations in British Columbia listed under "thematic" maps. In addition to this the Xwi7xwa library and Education Libraries have their own First Nations mapping and community resource collections. These collections also include monographs, atlases, audiovisual resources and more.
A few highlights of these collections are listed below.
Aboriginal Peoples and Politics: the Indian land question in British Columbia, 1849-1989 by Call Number: MBC BKS 15ISBN: 077480369XPublication Date: 1990-01-01Aboriginal claims remain a controversial but little understood issue in contemporary Canada. British Columbia has been, and remains, the setting for the most intense and persistent demands by Native people, and also for the strongest and most consistent opposition to Native claims by governments and the non-aboriginal public. Land has been the essential question; the Indians have claimed continuing ownership while the province has steadfastly denied the possibility.
First Nations of British Columbia by Call Number: G3511.E1 2017 .C37Publication Date: 20171 map : color ; on sheet 56 x 56 cm
Notes: Includes illustrations (some color) and text
First Nations of British Columbia by Call Number: BA M83 F57 2014ISBN: 9780774828734Publication Date: 2014-10-15The First Nations of British Columbia, now in its third edition, is a concise and accessible overview of BC's First Nations peoples, cultures, and issues. Robert J. Muckle familiarizes readers with the history, diversity, and complexity of First Nations to provide a context for contemporary concerns and initiatives. This latest edition of the classic work has been fully revised, with new chapters added and previous ones rewritten, arguments reframed in light of current developments, and resources brought right up to date. The First Nations of British Columbia is an indispensable resource for teachers and students and an excellent introduction for anyone interested in BC First Nations.- Reconciliation by Call Number: MBC P46 R43 2006ISBN: 155365143XPublication Date: 2006In the hundred years since British Columbia joined Confederation, Canada has negotiated only one treaty in the province. A decade after signing the Nisga'a treaty, and despite spending hundreds of millions of dollars, the BC Treaty Commission process had not finalized a single treaty. This impassioned book explains why. The long answer to the question, says author Tony Penikett, is rooted in colonial history: provincial resistance, federal indifference and judicial equivocation. The short answer is that Canadian governments have wanted treaties solely on their own terms. Drawing on three decades of experience as a negotiator and a politician, Penikett argues persuasively that successful treaty making requires not only principled mandates, imaginative negotiators and skilled mediators, but also the political will to redress First Nation grievances. The treaty process in BC is ailing, this book shows clearly, and Penikett has many practical remedies to offer.
Treaty Talks in British Columbia by Call Number: MBC M35 T73 2009ISBN: 9780774815154Publication Date: 2009-09-02This updated edition of Treaty Talks in British Columbia traces the origins and development of treaty negotiations in the province and includes a postscript, co-authored with Peter Colenbrander, that provides an extensive overview of the treaty process from 2001 to 2009. The authors outline the achievements of and challenges for the treaty process and review some of the most recent jurisprudence affecting Native and non-Native rights. They also reflect on the growing number of initiatives outside the treaty process to achieve reconciliation between First Nations and the Crown and raise questions about the future relationship between these initiatives and treaty negotiations. Succinct and informative, this book brings clarity to a complex and often contentious issue.
Digital Maps
- Aboriginal Community Data InitiativeBC provincial data on First Nations communities
- British Columbia Assembly of First Nations Interactive MapMap of Indigenous communities in BC, their location, and links to the each nation and provincial government of BC programs
- Canada Residential School MapMap displaying all of the 130 residential school locations that operated across Canada
- EcotrustMapping projects done in collaboration with First Nations and the Aboriginal Mapping Network
- First Nations Languages of BCUBC Museum of Anthropology map of First Nations languages for the province
- Indigenous Services Canada BC Reserve MapProvincial government map with the locations of all BC reserve locations
- Interactive Treaty MapAn overview of current treaty areas and status
- Native LandAn interactive map with territory, language, and treaty boundaries for aboriginal peoples worldwide including British Columbia
- Our Homes are BleedingA digital collection created by the assembly of BC Indian Chiefs on the history of the reserve system, land title rights, and community stories
- Treaty Negotiations MapProvincial government map of treaty agreements and negotiations with individual nations. Current as of November 2017.
Land Acknowledgements
UBC has two campuses: the Vancouver Campus and the Okanagan Campus.
The Vancouver Campus is located on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam) people.
- xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam) Website
- Musqueam Nation (BC Treaty Commission)
- UBC and Musqueam History
- Territory Acknowledgements at UBC Vancouver
The City of Vancouver is located on Musqueam, Squamish, and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations territory.
The Okanagan Campus and the City of Kelowna are located on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the Syilx Okanagan Nation.
Additional Resources
- UBC Indigenous Peoples Language Guidelines
Examples of both written and oral recognition can be found in the Acknowledgement and Recognition section. - Supporting Territory Acknowledgements in Your Classroom or Workplace
UBC Centre for Teaching, Learning, and Technology [PDF]
- Xwi7xwa Library: Locating Ourselves
This link opens in a new window
This document sets out to assist researchers in learning how to locate the traditional territory they are on.
