Finding Aerospace Books
Books can be an excellent way to gain a broad understanding of the topic you are researching. Technology is often explained in full within a book, whereas a journal article tends to be narrower in scope, reporting on a specific experiment or set of results.
Searching in Summon is the most effective way to find books available through UBC Library. Over 2,600 titles are found by searching the phrase "aerospace engineering" - to make this search more specific, add additional keywords and use the filters provided. Here is a quick link to books published by AIAA.
Within the Knovel collection of eBooks, there is an Aerospace and Radar Technology collection that includes handbooks, AIAA conference proceedings and other relevant titles from multiple publishers.
Selected Aerospace Titles from the UBC Library Collection
Aeronautical Engineer's Data Book by
Aeronautical Engineer's Data Bookis an essential handy guide containing useful up to date information regularly needed by the student or practising engineer. Covering all aspects of aircraft, both fixed wing and rotary craft, this pocket book provides quick access to useful aeronautical engineering data and sources of information for further in-depth information.
ISBN: 9780750651257Publication Date: 2001-10-17
Aerospace Materials Handbook by
Whether an airplane or a space shuttle, a flying machine requires advanced materials to provide a strong, lightweight body and a powerful engine that functions at high temperature. The Aerospace Materials Handbook examines these materials, covering traditional superalloys as well as more recently developed light alloys. Capturing state-of-the-art developments in materials research for aeronautical and aerospace applications, this book provides a timely reference for both newcomers and veteran researchers in the field. The chapters address developments in bulk materials, coatings, traditional materials, and new materials. Beginning with an overview of superalloys, including nickel-, nickel-iron-, and cobalt-based superalloys, the text covers machining, laser cladding and alloying, corrosion performance, high-temperature oxidation, thermal spraying, and nanostructured coatings. It also includes four categories of composites used in aerospace: metal matrix, polymer, carbon nanotube-reinforced polymer, and self-healing composites. The text describes preparation, processing, and fatigue of lightweight magnesium alloys, as well as an exciting new class of materials--aerogels. This book brings readers to the cutting edge of research in materials for aerospace and aeronautics. It provides an entry point into this field and presents details to stimulate future research. This unique, up-to-date resource offers knowledge to enable practitioners to develop faster, more efficient, and more reliable air- and spacecraft.
ISBN: 9781439873298Publication Date: 2012-11-19
AIAA Aerospace Design Engineers Guide by
The sixth edition of this classic, indispensable reference work continues to provide a comprehensive collection of the most commonly used engineering data specifically related to aerospace design. The AIAA Aerospace Design Engineers Guide, Sixth Edition has fully adopted the AIAA policy of using SI (International System of Units) as the primary system of units for its technical publications. Where practical, all reference material, data, formulas, and graphs now use SI units as the primary system of units or contain SI in addition to the units used in prior editions. Developed by aerospace professionals, the AIAA Aerospace Design Engineers Guide is a reliable source of information that aerospace students and professionals alike keep nearby for quick, convenient everyday reference.
ISBN: 9781600869129Publication Date: 2012-11-30
The Control Handbook (three Volume Set) by
At publication, The Control Handbook immediately became the definitive resource that engineers working with modern control systems required. Among its many accolades, that first edition was cited by the AAP as the Best Engineering Handbook of 1996. Now, 15 years later, William Levine has once again compiled the most comprehensive and authoritative resource on control engineering. He has fully reorganized the text to reflect the technical advances achieved since the last edition and has expanded its contents to include the multidisciplinary perspective that is making control engineering a critical component in so many fields. Now expanded from one to three volumes, The Control Handbook, Second Edition brilliantly organizes cutting-edge contributions from more than 200 leading experts representing every corner of the globe. They cover everything from basic closed-loop systems to multi-agent adaptive systems and from the control of electric motors to the control of complex networks. Progressively organized, the three volume set includes: Control System Fundamentals Control System Applications Control System Advanced Methods Any practicing engineer, student, or researcher working in fields as diverse as electronics, aeronautics, or biomedicine will find this handbook to be a time-saving resource filled with invaluable formulas, models, methods, and innovative thinking. In fact, any physicist, biologist, mathematician, or researcher in any number of fields developing or improving products and systems will find the answers and ideas they need. As with the first edition, the new edition not only stands as a record of accomplishment in control engineering but provides researchers with the means to make further advances.
ISBN: 9781315218694Publication Date: 2018-10-08
Digital Avionics Handbook by
A perennial bestseller, the Digital Avionics Handbook offers a comprehensive view of avionics. Complete with case studies of avionics architectures as well as examples of modern systems flying on current military and civil aircraft, this Third Edition includes: Ten brand-new chapters covering new topics and emerging trends Significant restructuring to deliver a more coherent and cohesive story Updates to all existing chapters to reflect the latest software and technologies Featuring discussions of new data bus and display concepts involving retina scanning, speech interaction, and synthetic vision, the Digital Avionics Handbook, Third Edition provides practicing and aspiring electrical, aerospace, avionics, and control systems engineers with a pragmatic look at the present state of the art of avionics.
ISBN: 9781439868614Publication Date: 2014-09-03
Encyclopedia of Materials: Composites by
Encyclopedia of Materials: Composites, Three Volume Set provides a point-of-entry, foundational-level resource for all scientists and practitioners interested in this exciting field. All composite materials technologies, processes and applications are covered, with contributions written and expertly curated by the world's leading scientists. The result is a three-volume, comprehensive collection of the most important data, concepts and studies published in the field. This title is clearly structured in thematic sections, making it an invaluable tool for researchers in the fields of materials science, energy, engineering, chemistry and physics, and from both industry and academia. Provides a one-stop resource on current composite materials research, along with insights into future directions in the field Meticulously organized, with articles split into sections on key topics and clearly cross-referenced to allow students, researchers and professionals to find relevant information quickly and easily Written by academics and practitioners from various fields and regions, thus ensuring that the book's content is easily understood by, and applicable to, a large audience
ISBN: 9780128197318Publication Date: 2021-07-07
Encyclopedia of Materials: Metals and Alloys by
Modern metallurgy is a fascinating field of research, full of discoveries, commercial opportunities and industrial utility. Encyclopedia of Materials: Metals and Alloys, Four Volume Set is a new, multidisciplinary reference work offering a comprehensive coverage of this exciting area, and consolidating research activities in all experimental and theoretical aspects of metallic materials, intermetallic compounds, alloys, blends and composites. Key focus is on those aspects of the science of metals concerned with their manufacturing, processing and fabrication, the relationship between the macro/micro/nanostructures and properties (mechanical, chemical, electrical, electrochemical, magnetic and optical), industrial application, surface modification and functionalization of metals - and, importantly, resource and supply chain issues, and life-cycle and sustainability practices. This title provides users with a single and unique reference source, incorporating elements from many different disciplines. An invaluable addition to any reference library of engineers, chemists and physicists, both from industry and academia. Comprehensive and accessible - offers users a 'one stop' comprehensive resource, providing contemporary reviews of current metallurgy research, and an insight into the future direction of the field Clearly structured - meticulously organized, chapters are split into 13 sections on key topics and clearly cross-referenced to allow students, researchers, and professionals to find relevant information quickly and easily Multidisciplinary - chapters written by academics and practitioners from various fields and regions ensure that the knowledge within is easily understood by, and applicable to, a large audience Contemporary content - emphasis is given to clean energy, green transport, healthcare and next-generation manufacturing
ISBN: 9780128197332Publication Date: 2021-09-01
Handbook of Aerospace Electromagnetic Compatibility by
A comprehensive resource that explores electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) for aerospace systems Handbook of Aerospace Electromagnetic Compatibility is a groundbreaking book on EMC for aerospace systems that addresses both aircraft and space vehicles. With contributions from an international panel of aerospace EMC experts, this important text deals with the testing of spacecraft components and subsystems, analysis of crosstalk and field coupling, aircraft communication systems, and much more. The text also includes information on lightning effects and testing, as well as guidance on design principles and techniques for lightning protection. The book offers an introduction to E3 models and techniques in aerospace systems and explores EMP effects on and technology for aerospace systems. Filled with the most up-to-date information, illustrative examples, descriptive figures, and helpful scenarios, Handbook of Aerospace Electromagnetic Compatibility is designed to be a practical information source. This vital guide to electromagnetic compatibility: * Provides information on a range of topics including grounding, coupling, test procedures, standards, and requirements * Offers discussions on standards for aerospace applications * Addresses aerospace EMC through the use of testing and theoretical approaches Written for EMC engineers and practitioners, Handbook of Aerospace Electromagnetic Compatibility is a critical text for understanding EMC for aerospace systems.
ISBN: 9781118910511Publication Date: 2018-12-27
Handbook of Human Factors in Air Transportation Systems by
One of the primary applications of human factors engineering is in the aviation domain, and the importance of human factors has never been greater as U.S. and European authorities seek to modernize the air transportation system through the introduction of advanced automation. This handbook provides regulators, practitioners, researchers, and educators a comprehensive resource for understanding and applying human factors to air transportation.
ISBN: 9781138747395Publication Date: 2017-10-23
Handbook of Materials Failure Analysis with Case Studies from the Aerospace and Automotive Industries by
Handbook of Materials Failure Analysis: With Case Studies from the Aerospace and Automotive Industries provides a thorough understanding of the reasons materials fail in certain situations, covering important scenarios, including material defects, mechanical failure as a result of improper design, corrosion, surface fracture, and other environmental causes. The book begins with a general overview of materials failure analysis and its importance, and then logically proceeds from a discussion of the failure analysis process, types of failure analysis, and specific tools and techniques, to chapters on analysis of materials failure from various causes. Later chapters feature a selection of newer examples of failure analysis cases in such strategic industrial sectors as aerospace, oil & gas, and chemicals.
ISBN: 9780128009505Publication Date: 2015-08-24
Handbook of Peridynamic Modeling by
This handbook covers the peridynamic modeling of failure and damage. Peridynamics is a reformulation of continuum mechanics based on integration of interactions rather than spatial differentiation of displacements. The book extends the classical theory of continuum mechanics to allow unguided modeling of crack propagation/fracture in brittle, quasi-brittle, and ductile materials; autonomous transition from continuous damage/fragmentation to fracture; modeling of long-range forces within a continuous body; and multiscale coupling in a consistent mathematical framework.
ISBN: 9781482230437Publication Date: 2016-10-25
The International Handbook of Space Technology by
This comprehensive handbook provides an overview of space technology and a holistic understanding of the system-of-systems that is a modern spacecraft. With a foreword by Elon Musk, CEO and CTO of SpaceX, and contributions from globally leading agency experts from NASA, ESA, JAXA, and CNES, as well as European and North American academics and industrialists, this handbook, as well as giving an interdisciplinary overview, offers, through individual self-contained chapters, more detailed understanding of specific fields, ranging through: ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Launch systems, structures, power, thermal, communications, propulsion, and software, to ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; entry, descent and landing, ground segment, robotics, and data systems, to ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; technology management, legal and regulatory issues, and project management. This handbook is an equally invaluable asset to those on a career path towards the space industry as it is to those already within the industry.
ISBN: 9783642411007Publication Date: 2014-03-11
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by
Reviews from the previous edition: "The most indispensable reference in the English language on all aspects of chemical technology...the best reference of its kind". --Chemical Engineering News, 1992 "Overall, ECT is well written and cleanly edited, and no library claiming to be a useful resource for chemical engineering professionals should be without it." --Nicholas Basta, Chemical Engineering, December 1992 The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949. The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information. Presents the versatile field of chemical technology through articles on properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemical substances and materials, industrial processes and unit operations, along with scientific principles and insights into current research related to the field Addresses such aspects as economic, health and safety factors, standards, specifications and environmental concerns Includes over 1,300 articles Updated regularly to reflect changes and developments in the field (50-60 new or updated articles added each year) Articles are citable and peer reviewed and include bibliography of cited references as well as suggested reading Previous versions of articles are archived for historical reference The Smart Article functionalities were added in 2014, to enable searching for structures and reactions through to the title and across related products, such as journals, databases, and other reference works The last print edition of Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia published between 2004 and 2007 and is available as a comprehensive 27-Volume Set. Since then, a concise edition (2007) and four thematic volumes (2007-2013) on the Environment, Food and Feed Technology, Separation Technology and Cosmetics, have been published and are available in print and e-book formats 27 Volumes Updating wileyonlinelibrary.com/ref/kirk
ISBN: 9780471484943Publication Date: 2004-03-29
