Skip to Main Content

Primary Sources for K-12 Educators

This guide is for K-12 educators seeking digital primary sources to use in their classrooms.

Newspapers

BC Historical Newspapers - Provides digitized versions of 25 historical papers from around the province. The titles date from 1865 to 1989.

Our Future, Our Past: The Alberta Heritage Digitization Project (AHDP) - Provides free online access to cultural and heritage materials relating to Alberta's history. Includes newspapers from 1885, entire books about local communities, legal documents, and historic photographs.

Peel's Prairie Provinces - Contains both an online bibliography of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies, as well as a searchable full-text collection of 7,500+ digitized books, 4.8 million+ newspaper articles, 16,000 postcards, and 1,000 maps.

Canadian Newspapers and the Second World War - Full text collection of more than 144,000 newspaper articles are arranged by subject and includes news stories and editorials from mostly Canadian newspapers documenting every aspect of the war.

The British Colonist 1858-1920 - Digitized copies of articles published in the British Colonist (also called The Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants) newspaper between December 11, 1858 and December 1920.

Maple Leaf: For Canadian Troops In Action 1944-1946 - Canadian military newspaper for soldiers during World War II. Contains digitized copies of the newspaper.