Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2SLGBTQIA+ History and Archives

About

This page highlights regional, national and international 2SLGBTQIA+ archives and oral history projects as well as selected resource centres.

Regional Archives and Resources

SFU Rotunda Libraries

The libraries of three social justice student groups at SFU, including Out On Campus, a volunteer-run library that seeks to create & maintain a safe space for people of all sexual orientations and genders.

 

City Of Vancouver Archives

The City of Vancouver Archives acquires a variety of records that document the city's history including the BC Gay and Lesbian Archives. The BC Gay and Lesbian Archives was established in 1976 and developed and maintained by Ron Dutton in his home. Dutton donated the collection to the City of Vancouver Archives in February 2018. Collection consists of textual records (primarily textual ephemera), periodicals, photographs, posters, and audiovisual materials pertaining to LGBTQ2+ communities in Vancouver and British Columbia.

 

Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria

The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria is committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of trans, nonbinary, Two-Spirit, and other gender-diverse people.

 

BCLA Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Interest Group

Welcome to the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) Interest Group of BCLA! Our mission is to share information on LGBTQ  issues, events, online resources, recommended books, films and music, and more with library folks across the province. If you have ideas for content that you’d like to see shared on our website, please contact us! We’re also looking for interested members to take on organizing events and contributing to our website. We want this to be a fun group that accomplishes serious things when it needs to. 

 

Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony

The Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony was founded in 2010. We digitize and make available online oral histories and testimony of same-sex and same-gender attracted women, inclusive of Two Spirit, queer, bisexual, and lesbian women, transmen, and others. The archives and the web site is supported by and operates out of Simon Fraser University Library's Special Collections and Rare Books. More background information about the founding and development of the project is available in our Resources. This project is supported by an grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. Currently, ALOT is undertaking a project called "Bridging the Gap," which seeks to explore how incorporating participatory features into digital archives can encourage community users' use of an online archives hosted by an academic institution.

 

QMUNITY, BC's queer resource centre

This is a place for queer, trans, and Two-Spirit folks looking to have a sense of community come: to meet, guide, and support each other.

National Archives and Resources

Two-Spirit Archives | Archives | The University of Winnipeg

The mission of the Two-Spirit Archives is to develop an internationally-renowned centre for research that supports the needs of the Two-Spirit community; makes Two-Spirit people visible in our documentary heritage; and supports the research, teaching, learning, and community mandates of the University. It is guided in its development by the Two-Spirit Archives Advisory Council, which ensures Two-Spirit people are central to preserving the history of their contributions to society and in strengthening their community.

 

The Arquives: Canada's LGBTQ2+ Archives

The ArQuives was established to aid in the recovery and preservation of our histories. Its mandate is to: Acquire, preserve, organize, and give public access to information and materials in any medium, by and about LGBTQ2+ people, primarily produced in or concerning Canada; and Maintain a research library, international research files, and an international collection of queer and trans periodicals.

 

Egale: Canadian Human Rights Trust 

Egale’s vision is a Canada, and ultimately a world, without homophobia, biphobia, transphobia and all other forms of oppression so that every person can achieve their full potential, free from hatred and bias. Egale created a video explaining Bill C-16, which now federally protects gender identity and gender expression in the Canadian Human Rights Act.

 

Canadian Committee on the History of Sexuality

An official subcommittee of the Canadian Historical Association (CHA-SHC), which provides an organizational focus within the Canadian historical profession for all those who are researching, writing, teaching, and otherwise interested in the historical study of sexuality.

 

Canadian Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce

A national, non-profit industry association committed to forming a broad-based coalition, representative of the various interests of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans-identified, Queer, Two-Spirited and Intersex (LGBT*) owned businesses, allied businesses, corporations, professionals, and students of business.

 

The Pride Library. University of Western Ontario

Acquires and provides public access to materials by and about the lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and queer community (LGBTQ).

 

Queerstory

An app that uses archival materials to explore Toronto's queer history from various locations in the city.

 

The Quebec Gay Archives

A community organization founded in 1983 to acquire and preserve materials related to gay and lesbian communities in Quebec.