Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2SLGBTQIA+ History and Archives

Keywords

In the UBC Library Catalogue and UBC AtoM (archival database), try combining your topic keywords with one of these terms.

  • biograph?

  • autobiograph?

  • "first person"

  • interview?

  • perspectiv?

  • diary OR diaries

  • autoethnograph?

  • narrativ?

  • photograph?

For Example: "Gay men" AND Autobiograph?

Search Tip: Use quotation marks to search for a phrase (e.g. "Gay men"). Use a question mark to truncate a term to search for words with the same stem (e.g. Biograph? retrieves Biography, Biographies, Biographical, etc.). 

Call Numbers

From the Queer Arts Festival fonds 2011 program "Games People Play"

Located in RBSC-ARC-1833-01-05

Call number browsing is an effective way to virtually "see" books as they are arranged on the shelf.

Learn more about call numbers.

To design your own call number browse, use the catalogue's "simple search" tab within the "advanced search" function.

Enter the beginning of the call number. The more you enter, the more specific the search. Be sure to select Rare Books and Special Collections from the dropdown menu beside "Filter by Location/Item Type/Language"

To browse for Queer books on the shelves, use the call number HQ. Please note that the below list contains problematic and outdated terminology to refer to 2SLGBTQIA+ people. Please refer to the UBC Positive Space Language guide for terminology which promotes awareness and ensures we engage respectfully with one another.

  • HQ19-30.7 Sexual behavior and attitudes. Sexuality

  • HQ31-64 Sex instruction and sexual ethics

  • HQ74-74.2 Bisexuality

  • HQ75-76.8 Homosexuality. Lesbianism

  • HQ77-77.2 Transvestism

  • HQ77.7-77.95 Transexualism

Subject Headings

Try following one of these links or build your own subject search. These subject headings are used throughout the UBC libraries, not only for RBSC.

Please note that the below list contains problematic and outdated terminology to refer to the 2SLGBTQIA+ community. Please refer to the UBC Positive Space Language guide for terminology which promotes awareness and ensures we engage respectfully with one another. 

General searching note: Using subject headings to search for resources will return a greater breadth of results that share a common theme. The below tables are separated into subject headings for the Library of Congress Subject Headings and Medical Subject Headings, which occasionally use the same term name ("Homosexuality", for example) but would return different results based on which type of subject heading type you choose. Take care to choose the correct type of subject heading for your research needs. In your search, you may also come across terms that include "Narrower Term" options which can be useful to further specify your search; for example, the Library of Congress Subject Heading for "Homosexuality" lists "Male homosexuality" as a narrower term. In your search, you may also come across terms that include "See Also" terms, which are related subject headings to the term you searched.

 

The below table uses terms from the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). LCSH is a controlled vocabulary thesaurus that describes the primary subject matter of the literary work. LCSH is slow to update terminology in comparison with how quickly society changes, therefore some terms that would not be acceptable in today's language are still present on this list, but do not represent how UBC or RBSC view 2SLGBTQIA+ people. This is not a comprehensive list of all LCSH subject terms that describe 2SLGBTQIA+ materials; for a full, alphabetical list of terms please see this guide from Indiana University Bloomington.

Library of Congress Subject Heads (LCSH)
Asexuality Homosexuality
Bisexuality Intersectionality (Sociology)
Canada. Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Section 15 Intersexuality
Coming Out (Sexual Orientation) Lesbianism
Cross-Dressing Lesbians
Gay Culture Queer Theory
Gay Men Same-Sex Marriage
Gay Rights Sex Change
Gays Sexual Behavior
Gender Expression Sexual Minorities
Gender Identity Sexual Orientation
Gender-Nonconforming People Transgender People
Heterosexism Transsexualism
Homophobia Two-Spirit

 

The below table uses terms from Medical Subject Headings, and contains problematic, offensive, and outdated terminology to describe 2SLGBTQIA+ people. The historic medicalization of 2SLGBTQIA+ people sought to "diagnose" or "cure" them, which has been disproven countless times and has since removed homosexuality as a classification for psychiatric diseases. 2SLGBTQIA+ people are not mentally ill, criminal, or immoral, though unfortunately they were historically thought of as such. The below table includes health information, sources, services, and information for or about 2SLGBTQIA+ people in a medical setting.

Medical Subject Headings
Bisexuality Sex Reassignment Procedures
Gender Identity Sex Reassignment Surgery
Hermaphroditism Sexual and Gender Minorities
Homosexuality Sexual Behavior
Homosexuality, Female Transsexualism
Sex Characteristics Transgender Persons

Author search, series search, and other strategies

Archives

From the Queer Arts Festival fonds 2011 program "Games People Play"

Located in RBSC-ARC-1833-01-05

Researchers looking for archival material at RBSC can search through AtoM, our database, for more than 700 archival fonds and collections. If you are new to archival research, the Archival Research Guide will provide you with an overview of doing research in RBSC. RBSC's search does not use phrase (e.g. "Gays and Lesbians") or truncated searching. Try a simple keyword search instead (e.g. Gay men).

See the below "AtoM" section for more information on how to effective search RBSC's database.

AtoM

Search for RBSC's archival holdings in Access to Memory (AtoM). This web applications does not often have digitized materials (there are a few exceptions) but rather features written descriptions of our archival materials. To find digitized materials try searching our Open Collections (above). After reviewing descriptions, you may wish to view the archives themselves. Take note of the "Reference Number" to help us find it for you ( an example is outlined in red below).

AtoM Search diagram

Searching for materials

AtoM Search diagram

Using the left pane to navigate a description

AtoM Search diagram