This online index has selective coverage of the Vancouver Sun, Province, and Times-Colonist for 1991 to 2007. It is produced by the BC Legislative Library so the focus is BC history, politics, and economics. Search by subject/name, headline, author, keyword. Because this is an index, once you have found references for articles of interest, you must then locate the full text of the articles in either microfilm or online newspaper collections at the Library. Canadian Newsstand has the full text of most articles listed in this index.
This index has selective coverage of the Vancouver Sun, Province, Times-Colonist (and predecessors Victoria Times and Colonist) for 1900-1990. It was developed by the BC Legislative Library so the focus is articles about BC history, politics, and economics. This index on microfilm is images of the original index cards. You can search only by subject or name headings.
It is important to start your search by first finding suitable subject headings: consult the B.C. Provincial Library Newspaper Index List of Subject Headings, and updates. Once you have found suitable subject headings, proceed to the microfilm collection for the B.C. Newspaper Index at Koerner Microforms AW1 R5065, consult the appropriate reels, and note the citations to articles you wish to read. The articles are found on other microfilm reels for the appropriate newspapers and dates.
Indexes articles in a variety of historical British Columbia newspapers. Microfiche of BCARS index cards for newspaper articles. Coverage from pre-1900 newspapers through to 1980s. Depth of coverage varies. Because this is an index, once you have found references for articles of interest, you must then locate the full text of the articles in either microfilm or online newspaper collections at the Library.
Online bibliography of materials related to the development of the Prairies, and a searchable full-text collection of many of these items: 7,500 digitized books, over 66,000 newspaper issues, and more.
This invaluable 3-volume set attempts to "include all known newspapers published in the province." Search by newspaper title, place of publication, or type of newspaper (including ethnic, political, financial, labour, student, and underground). Record for each title includes: dates of publication, publishers and editors, frequency of publication, indexing sources for each title, variations on titles (former, merged with, continued by, etc.), and holdings (institutions that own copies, by date and format).