About This Collection
The Arkley Collection of Early and Historical Children’s Literature holds Canadian, British and American children’s books from the late eighteenth century to 1939. It is strong in material by and about Lewis Carroll. Some unique items include Canadian first editions, early editions of children’s classics, and works of important illustrators. The collection’s growth relies largely on gifts, but important Canadian items are purchased when they become available.
Photo credit: UBC Library, Rare Books and Special Collections, PZ4.9.D696 In 1870a.
Featured Materials
- Felissa; or, the life and opinions of a kitten of sentiment byCall Number: PZ6 1811 .F445Publication Date: 1811
- Floor games byCall Number: PZ6 1911 .W455Publication Date: 1911Suggests some of the games that can be created using toy soldiers and other figurines, blocks, boards and planks, and toy trains arranged in various ways on an appropriate floor.
- The Adventures of Robert, Earl of Huntington, vulgarly called Robin Hood : being a compleat history of all his merry adventures and valiant battlesCall Number: PZ6 1767 A394Publication Date: 1767
Colocating This Collection
Want to explore this collection but don't know where to start? We've created some links that can help you discover the material in this collection.
Bibliographies in Print
Books That Shaped Our Minds by ISBN: 0888652135Books That Shaped Our Minds is a fully annotated listing of three hundred and sixty-four treasures primarily from Britain and the United States. They were chosen and arranged to document the effect of particular works on the psyche and the sociology of the child from the late seventeenth century to the present. Independently, the books described are pieces of social history. Taken together, the notes in the catalogue constitute a narrative history of the books that have formed young minds for centuries.
Call Numbers in the UBC Library Catalogue
Many of the items in these call numbers belong to this collection. If the location listed on the record of the book is 'Rare Books and Special Collections', then the book is part of the Arkley Collection.
PZ6 1659a. C644 to PZ6 1930z. W376