Legend
limited to UBC students, faculty & staff (Connect to Library Resources or Library Access Browser Extension)
limited to UBC's Allard School of Law students & faculty
Law Library at Allard Hall
Journal Articles
Locating a current law journal article on a specific topic can save hours of research time.
Journal articles
- tend to focus on narrower legal issues and the authors, usually academics and practitioners in a field
- provide informed analysis of the law
- provide references to relevant case law and legislation
- are especially useful for commentary on emerging areas of the law, and areas undergoing change
- often provide useful footnotes to other articles, important cases, and related legislation
- to search for journal articles, use electronic consolidated article indexes for both scientific journals and similar indexes for legal journals
Search using keywords describing your topic, e.g. aquaculture AND British Columbia. Follow relevant subjects to find more articles. Also search by statute name or by case name for case commentary.
Our research guide Beginning Your Research explains legal research techniques.
- Fisheries (UBC Library)Choose databases with an aquatic focus.
- Scott Index of Canadian Law PeriodicalsFormerly the Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature (1998-)
• Covers over 20,000 texts including articles published in more than a hundred Canadian law journals, legal articles published in journals from related fields, texts from legal conferences, and case comments.
• Note: Website is in French, but can search for English material here.
• Print version at LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE8 .I53 (1961-2006) provides references to some law-related articles not found in ICLL and includes Author/Title Index, Table of Cases and Book Review Index
- LegalTrac This link opens in a new window• Indexes articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law & bar association journals, & legal newspapers on US Federal and State Cases, Laws and Government Regulations, Legal Practice
• Provides links to some full text & includes selective coverage of British Commonwealth, European Union and international law journals
• List of indexed publications
- Legal Periodicals & Books• Provides thorough coverage of American law journals & selective coverage of law journals from various Commonwealth countries, including Canada
• Indexes articles from over 615 law journals & provides subject access to over 2000 law books annually. List of indexed journals
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowTo discover what aquatic publications it indexes, click the "Publications" tab, then select "By Subject & Description" and search aqua* to retrieve a list of 20+ journals concerning aquaculture or aquatic science. It also indexes over 370 legal journals including Environmental Policy and Law.