Research Help
Need help with a literature review?
Your subject librarian can meet with you to help refine your search terms, advise on appropriate databases, discuss how to manage your search results, and consult on systematic or scoping review methods.
If you're doing a systematic, scoping or rapid review, learn more about our Knowledge Synthesis Service.
For other reviews, book an online appointment or contact ursula.ellis@ubc.ca.
Workshops are regularly offered on a wide range of topics, including literature reviews and systematic reviews.
Key Resources
If you have a specific article you're searching for, or are looking for books, Summon is a good place to start. Summon lets you simultaneously search the Library's book collection and many full text journal articles.
If you're searching for articles on a topic, you'll probably want to search a database which is more focused on health sciences than Summon. Look for the UBC eLink icons to check for full text articles.
- Lean Library browser extensionInstall to get easier, faster access to full text articles and ebooks.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)The main medical database. Same content as PubMed, but with advanced search features.
- Web of Science Core CollectionMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- CCOHS Web Information ServiceIncludes selected CSA standards, safety information sheets (SDS), Canadian legislation, and other occupational health and safety information.
- SafetyLitInjury prevention literature database sponsored by the WHO and San Diego State University. Offers a weekly email update of new literature in the field.
- Canada CommonsSearchable access to current public documents issued by Canadian public policy and health research agencies and think tanks, as well as books from over 70 Canadian publishers.