X̱wi7x̱wa Library Guide
Featured Articles
- Daigle, M. (2019). The Spectacle of Reconciliation: On (the) Unsettling Responsibilities to Indigenous Peoples in the Academy. Environment and Planning D: Society and Space, 37(4), 703-721.This paper places geographies of responsibility on stolen and occupied Indigenous lands in settler colonial Canada.
- Lowan-Trudeau, G. (2017). Protest as Pedagogy: Exploring Teaching and Learning in Indigenous Environmental Movements. The Journal of Environmental Education, 48(2), 96-108.This article reports on a recent study into the experiences of Indigenous and allied environmental activists with teaching and learning during and as a result of Indigenous environmental movements.
- Madden, B. (2019). A De/colonizing Theory of Truth and Reconciliation Education. Curriculum Inquiry, 49(3), 284-312.The author suggests that educators’ responses to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada cannot be reduced or reducible to practice without also considering the theories that are enfolded into reconciliatory initiatives and actions.
- Norma, E. (2017). Standing Up for Inherent Rights: The Role of Indigenous-Led Activism in Protecting Sacred Waters and Ways of Life. Society & Natural Resources, 30(4), 537 - 553In this article, the author explores the role of Indigenous activism at different scales—personal, tribal, and collective—to intervene in key moments to uphold treaty rights and protect Indigenous ways of life.
- Ray, L. (2018). Pipelines, Prostitution and Indigenous Women: A Critical Analysis of Contemporary Discourse. Canadian Woman Studies, 33(1-2), 107-116.Prostitution and oil and pipeline development function as sites that support the practice of dominance and thus violence. Through discourse analysis, the author shows that a covert process of power reproduction can be masked and facilitated by invocations of"ethics," "rights," and "enrichment and capacity."
- Roy, S. (2019).‘I Live Off This Land:’ Tahltan Women and Activism in Northern British Columbia. Women's History Review, 28(1), 42-56.Tahltan territory of northern British Columbia has been flooded with some of the largest industrial extractive projects in the world. One critical point of conflict is centered on how Canada legislates and regulates access to lands without regard to Indigenous sovereignty. This article illustrates the centrality of gender to such struggles.
- Steinman, E. (2019). Why Was Standing Rock and the #NoDAPL Campaign So Historic? Factors Affecting American Indian Participation in Social Movement Collaborations and Coalitions. Ethnic and Racial Studies, 42(7), 1070-1090.This paper is an effort to briefly identify history, theory and concepts salient to understanding the existence and relative paucity of American Indian-inclusive social movement coalitions.
- Walker, J., & Walter, P. (2018). Learning About Social Movements Through News Media: Deconstructing New York Times and Fox News Representations of Standing Rock. International Journal of Lifelong Education, 37(4), 401-418.This article critically examines how news media, as a form of public pedagogy, functioned to ‘educate’ the public about the Standing Rock pipeline protests in North Dakota, USA.
Selected Databases
Searching within databases can be more time consuming than using Summon, but there are advantages to this research strategy:
- Databases are usually limited by academic discipline, which means you will retrieve fewer results but they may be more relevant.
- Databases are highly structured, which means you can perform complex searches using controlled vocabulary.
The following databases are useful for finding articles related to Aboriginal languages. For a more comprehensive list, see the Articles & Databases page of our First Nations and Indigenous Studies research guide.
Each database may have their own way and limitations of searching within the database. Some may use "And," "Or," quotation marks and other search strategies listed on the books & media tab, but some may not. If you are not getting the results you expected within a database, make sure the search is worded the way the database works.
TIP: Searching databases with the keywords recommended in this research guide is a good starting strategy. However, be aware that some databases may use different terminology. When you find a relevant article, check the subject headings and article description for terminology that could be useful in a new keyword search.
- Academic Search CompleteIndexes over 10,000 journals, with many full-text articles.
Subject Terms: First Nations, Metis, Inuit, Native Americans, Aboriginal Australians, Indigenous peoples, names of specific nations.
Some articles have no Subject Terms assigned, so also try full-text searches. - Alternative Press IndexIndexes 450 alternative, radical, and left publications.
- CBCA Complete (Canadian Business, Reference & Current Affairs)Indexes academic periodicals, special interest publications, and newspapers, including the Aboriginal press: Windspeaker, Kahtou, Aboriginal Nurse.
Search terms: Indigenous peoples, Indigenous populations, Native peoples, Native North Americans, Native Americans, Metis, Inuit.
- Informit Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new windowCollection includes journals, reports and monographs from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Canada, the US and the Pacific.
- First Nations Periodical Index (last updated 2004)Mainly First Nations/Aboriginal Canadian content. Searchable index of 20 Aboriginal newspapers, magazines and periodicals.
- JSTOR CollectionFull-text searching of hundreds of journal titles in the sciences, humanities, social sciences, business, and more. Use advanced search or filters to narrow your results.
Search keywords: First Nations, Native American, Indigenous, Aboriginal, Métis, Inuit. - Project MuseFull-text collection of over 400 humanities and social sciences journals. Use filters to narrow your results.
Search keywords: First Nations, Native American, Indigenous, Aboriginal, Métis, Inuit. - MLA International BibliographyIndexes over 4,000 journals and series (1926-present) with some First Nations language and literature coverage. Includes journals such as, Studies in American Indian Literature; North Dakota Quarterly; American Indian Culture & Research; Canadian Journal of Native Studies. Search terms: folk-literature, folk narrative, oral history or search by author name: Sherman Alexie, Joy Harjo, Gerald Vizenor, Lee Maracle, Thomas King, etc.
- Global Environmental Justice CollectionDocumentaries in this collection that may be of interest: Tar Creek, Yindabad, Homeland, People of a Feather, and Arrows Against the Wind.