Primary Sources for K-12 Educators

The following videos have been prepared especially for K-12 educators by UBC Libraries.

At less than 5 minutes each, they're a quick way to get familiar with UBC's Open Collections -- what you'll find, what you can do, and how you can use them in the classroom.

If there's any content you'd like to see, feel free to contact us with a request and we'll do our best to accommodate. 

You can select a video to play by clicking on the menu icon:      

1. UBC Open Collections: How to Search
   • A video introduction on how to perform a basic search of UBC Open Collections.
     
     
2. UBC Open Collections: How to Use Syntax and Filters
   • A video introduction on how to use syntax and filters to find narrow search results within  UBC Open Collections.
     
     
3. UBC Open Collections: How to Navigate Documents
   • A video introduction on how to navigate documents within UBC Open Collections.
   • Report of the Royal Commission on Chinese Immigration: https://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0222445
     
     
4. UBC Open Collections: How to Save and Use Documents
   • A video introduction on how to save and use documents and document portions within UBC Open Collections.
   • Report of the Royal Commission on Chinese Immigration: https://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0222445

• Searching for Documents
  • ​This introduces Open Collections' search functionality, shows how to browse by collections, and how to perform a basic search.
    • Browse Open Collections
• Filtering search results
  •  This introduces how to drill down into search results using filters and syntax.
    • Cheat Sheet for Syntax
• Navigating Documents
  • This walks through Open Collections' document interface, and shows how to navigate documents, search for content within documents, and export some or all of a document.
• Finding Images
  • This shows how to use Open Collections to find and save images for in-class use.