Skip to main content

Himalayan Studies

Digital Himalaya Collection

The Digital Himalaya project was designed by Alan Macfarlane and Mark Turin as a strategy for archiving and making available ethnographic materials from the Himalayan region. The project was established in December 2000 at the Department of Social Anthropology at the University of Cambridge. From 2002 to 2005, the project moved to the Department of Anthropology at Cornell University and began its collaboration with the University of Virginia. In July 2014, the project moved to the University of British Columbia, in Vancouver, Canada, and is now engaged in a long term collaboration with Sichuan University.

Charles Bell Tibetan collection at Liverpool World Museum UK

The Charles Bell Tibet collection  contains nearly 200 objects and photo albums. It is an important archive of the Anglo-Tibetan encounter of the early 20th century. Charles Bell was the Political Officer for Sikkim, Bhutan and Tibet from 1908 -1918. After receiving an invitation from the thirteenth Dalai Lama, he undertook a special mission to Lhasa in 1920-21; his first and only visit to the capital of Tibet. The Charles Bell collection is a record of Bell’s time in the Himalayas. It provides us with an insight both into his work for the government of British India, and into Bell’s personal and professional friendships with many Sikkimese, Bhutanese and Tibetan men, including Palhese, Barmiok Lama, and the thirteenth Dalai Lama himself. This collection includes digital images, as well as other visual material collected by Charles Bell during various expeditions across the Himalayan region. Explore the photographic collection here.

The Tibetan and Himalayan Library

The Buddhist Digital Research  Center (formerly  Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center) is a non-profit organization dedicated to seeking out, preserving, organizing, and disseminating Tibetan literature. Joining digital technology with scholarship, BDRC ensures that the ancient wisdom and cultural treasures of the Tibetan literary tradition are not lost, by making them available to future generations. BDRC was founded in 1999 by the late E. Gene Smith, the extraordinary scholar and archivist who is revered by the spiritual leaders of Tibetan Buddhism, and by scholars of Tibetan and related area-studies around the world.

The Treasuries of Lives

The Treasury of Lives is a bibliographical encyclopedia of Tibet, Inner Asia, and the Himalaya. Most biographies are peer reviewed. It currently has a collection of 1148 biographies of Abbots, historical figures, religious leaders, and encyclopedic essays on the Tibetan cultural zones across Himalayas.

Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center Digital Library

The Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to seeking out, preserving, organizing, and disseminating Tibetan literature. Joining digital technology with scholarship, TBRC ensures that the ancient wisdom and cultural treasures of the Tibetan literary tradition are not lost, but are made available for future generations. TBRC was founded in 1999 by the late E. Gene Smith, the extraordinary scholar and archivist who is revered by the spiritual leaders of Tibetan Buddhism, and by scholars of Tibetan and related area-studies around the world.

Nepal Democracy

Nepal Democracy provides information on Nepali politics, government and civil society. It also aims to serve as a resource and transit site for subject areas such as civic education, human rights, caste and ethnicity, gender and women, conflict resolution and media.

This site was launched by the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung (FES) Nepal Office. FES has been working in Nepal since 1995, focussing mainly on democratization, media development, trade union development and promotion of regional cooperation in South Asia. 

Himalayan Art Resources

Himalayan Art Resources is an  comprehensive collection of Himalayan art available via open access. The mission of the HAR is to create a comprehensive education and research database and virtual museum of Himalayan art. The program is based out of New York (USA).  

ARTstor

ARTstor is a digital image library for the arts and sciences with more than 1.6 million images licensed for educational use at UBC.

Nepal and Tibet: Art, Ritual and Performance

Nepal and Tibet: Art, Ritual and Performance is a research guide prepared for a course in art and architecture of Nepal, Tibet, and the broader  Himalayan region. 

Rubin Museum of Art

The Rubin Museum of Art is a nonprofit cultural and educational institution dedicated to the art of the Himalayas. It is an arts and cultural hub in New York City’s vibrant Chelsea neighborhood that inspires visitors to make connections between contemporary life, and the art and ideas of South Asia of the Himalayas and neighboring regions including India. The Rubin Museum’s preeminent collection of Himalayan art includes over 3,200 objects spanning more than 1,500 years to the present day. Included are works of art of great quality and depth from the Tibetan plateau, as well as from related surrounding regions including Nepal, Bhutan, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, China and Mongolia. These objects can be viewed on museum's website. Start your search at the  collection  homepage.