Research Guides: Government Publications- U.S. Statistical Resources: General Statistics

General Statistics

American FactFinder
American FactFinder is the portal to the major products of the U.S. Census Bureau, including the decennial census (with access to the 1990, 2000 and 2010 Censuses), the latest American Community Survey, the Economic Census, annual population estimates, and annual economic surveys. It can generate maps, tables and reports from a variety of Census Bureau sources.
State Profiles: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State. HA203.S734
There are eight-page chapters on each state, highlighting population, labour force, income, economic structure, housing, agriculture, education, health, and government finance. Coverage varies; the latest date in the 2006 edition is 2004. There are also 25 tables ranking states by various measures.
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. HA202.S84
From the US Census Bureau, this title contains summary social, economic, demographic and political data for states, MSAs (metropolitan statistical areas) and their central cities and component counties. The latest edition held at UBC Library is 2010 and its time series are presented in detailed tables focusing on the period 2000-2004.
Country and City Data Book. HA202.A36
From the US Census Bureau, this title contains official population and housing data plus business and other data for all U.S. counties, cities with 25,000 or more inhabitants, and places of 2,500 or more inhabitants.

The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract.

The Population of the United States. HB3505.B63 1997
A source of statistics, but also a valuable guide, with detailed discussions of the way in which official population, health, and labor statistics are gathered; copies of forms (census, birth certificates, etc.); and extensive bibliographies.
Major U.S. Statistical Series: Definitions, Publications, Limitations. HA37.U55 S77 1992
A framework for understanding the statistical data that is produced by the U.S. government, and for locating series that report regularly on specific topics, such as population, economic indicators, and government finance.
American Statistics Index (ASI). (Microfiche collection AW5. A4775)
This is a comprehensive collection of all publications with statistical content from the U. S. government, and UBC Library's holdings date from 1974 through 2010.

Unless you have a complete citation to a document in the collection, you should begin your research by consulting the companion print index, located in Koerner Library (call number ZHA214 .A447). Look for the accession number printed at the end of each entry. The microfiche collection is organized by publication year and accession number so you will need to know both numbers in order to retrieve the correct microform.

ASI indexing is also online, along with an increasing number of online tables and links to online publications, through the subscription database Proquest Statistical Insight.

There is a guide to the 1980 Census Publications (call no.: HA37.U55 G85 1986) and a guide to the 1990 Census Publications (call no.: HA37.U55 G853 1994). These contain detailed abstracts and indexes derived from the American Statistics Index.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides comprehensive access to statistical data. Many of the U.S. government sources are linked to the full text of the data, while state, private, and IGO sources are cited, allowing the researcher to then locate the statistical source in the library, either in print or as part of the microfiche service which accompanies the printed index (see above entry for the American Statistics Index for more information).
OECDiLibrary
From the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains all books and journals published since 1998, statistics, and 36 separate statistical databases, including OECDStat.

To access OECD.Stat, select the Statistics tab from the OECD iLibrary site, then select OECD.Stat under the Databases column. On the next page, click on the round pink icon (it should say "Access Database" if you hover above it), which will lead you to the datasets.
Statistical Abstract of the United States. HA202.S1
This is a convenient, current, easy to use all-in-one source of statistics on all aspects of American life. Tables always include their source of information and each edition effectively updates previous editions.

Dictionary of U.S. Government Statistical Terms. HA17.D52 1991
Defines terms and phrases used in federal government statistical publications.
Using Government Information Sources. J83.S4 2001
The best place to start researching U.S. government statistics. There are 16 separate chapters devoted to "The Statistical Search," covering such topics as population, income, prices, foreign trade, crime, defense, energy, projections, etc.
Principles and Practices for a Federal Statistical Agency
Online resource. Since 1992, the Committee on National Statistics (CNSTAT) has produced a book on principles and practices for a federal statistical agency, updating the document every 4 years to provide a current edition to newly appointed cabinet secretaries at the beginning of each presidential administration.
Statistical Programs of the United States Government
An excellent overview of the various statistical agencies of the government -- their budgets, programs, and long-range plans.
Major U.S. Statistical Series: Definitions, Publications, Limitations. HA37.U55 S77 1992
A framework for understanding the statistical data that is produced by the U.S. government, and for locating series that report regularly on specific topics, such as population, economic indicators, and government finance.